Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 30 June 2016
This is now the first book i go to, of my many needlepoint books so much helpful information as well as all the clear stitch graphs [not all books have such easy to understand and follow, stitch graphs]. There are more than 430 stitches all easy to follow ,with explanation charts on how best to use them. The first part of this book is about choosing threads, canvas.colour,showing you how to design your own needlepoint. Well just about everything you can think of. Nothing is left out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2017
A waste of money. Most of the book is in black and white. Tapestry is all about colour. Even the section on colour was in black and white. Some of the photos I can hardly make out. Looking at diagrams and pictures in colour is what gives the thrill and makes you want to do it. I've gone back to an old book that I've had for almost thirty years and all its diagrams and photos are in colour.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2015
This is a superb book! I wondered how the previous editions could be improved; the new edition covers much, much more including new stitches, colour plates etc. Thoroughly recommended in the print version but don't touch the Kindle version. On my Fire HDX, the diagrams are too small to use, even when enlarged.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2015
Well worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2015
A useful resource. Arrived safely. Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2015
THE turn-to book for everything you need to know about needlepoint. And I mean EVERYTHING. As a complete newbie to needlepoint I will admit I found this book a bit intimidating. It's a hefty tome, and for a crafter who is used to seeing simplified tutorials and colour-picture-laden books, I wondered if I would enjoy it as much.However, once you get past the old-fashioned style, what you get is a real gem. Some of the great things in this book include: art tuition, tips on colour tones (including a very handy chart on specific skin tones recommended for different nationalities), DIY projects for handy aids, ideas for multi-media, charts on fibre content and construction and even dyes. This book has a whopping 544 pages, a good 300 hundred or so dedicated to all the different stitches you could possibly imagine! Photographs and diagrams show how to achieve them. Despite being in black and white, and with the diagrams being hand-drawn, they are perfectly clear.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2000
Fabulous colour project illustrations, hundreds of stitches and lots of other help make this book the first one I turn to. A few parts show the age of the original - 70's colours and out of date fashions, but the contents haven't dated at all.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2004
I loved the stitched canvases used in this book. Information was given about thread and stitches used to complete the canvases. I can read and then read again the discriptions of stitches and work featured in this book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2001
Here is a must for any needlepointer, an abundance of stitches and ideas for their use. Easy to use and a definate must have.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)