Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
167
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This new 'Augmented Reality' edition is essentially the previous Blu-ray transfer on a new disc, and so on first inspection, is not really noteworthy. However, like all the latest Universal 100 products, this is a damn fine release that works out excellent value. What you're getting for under eight quid (at the time of writing) is the film in a stunning transfer, brand new HD documentaries and a great selection of special features from the previous releases - both DVD and Blu-ray.

Both 'The Mummy' and it's sequel are the two gems of the saga that, in time, started to falter with some poor productions. I'm delighted that Universal have selected this original film as part of it's centenary celebrations as it has clearly become a modern day classic. The juxtaposition of the swashbuckling but ultimately careless Brendan Frasier and focus on historical themes is absolutely spot on, and makes for a hugely entertaining movie. I know many people that have watched this film who normally wouldn't touch anything with such a combination, but they loved it. And as a deep lover of Ancient Egypt myself, I get a great sense of release* from watching Rachel Weisz battle with history! Boy, she's beautiful and deadly...

... In short however, this release of The Mummy is flawless and I'll certainly be flicking through Universal's other '100' titles as they're all the same price. In case you're wondering what the 'Augmented Reality' deal is, you're given the opportunity to hold an Apple iOS device (iPhone/Pad) and point the built-in camera at the slipcover of this product. The Universal App (which you must download) then creates a 3D image on your screen of... well, I won't spoil it, but it's fun if you want to pass a minute or two.

*The release I refer to is PURELY cognitive.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2001
'The Mummy' was a box office smash hit back in 1999 with an all-star cast of Brendan Fraser, Rachael Weisz and John Hannah with the genius of Steven Sommers behind it 100%. The tale of Evelyn a somewhat misunderstood librarian with a fascination of Egypt and Rick O'Connell the man who's life she saved to lead her to Hamunaptra, lost city of the dead. Where the three accidently release an undead curse and then battle to put it back where it came from. This film with shocking computer graphics and brilliant slick comic style is ideal for every type of film lover, as too is the sequel 'The Mummy Returns'. Set 9 years later the married couple and thier son Alex are once again united with Egypt and their curiousity of exploration. Evelyn's dreams come into collision with the Egyptian new year and with that bring flashbacks of past lives, leading her to discover her fate planned hundereds of years before her existence. Once again Rick and Evelyn along with Alex and Jonathon must battle to save the world from Imhotep and the Scorpian King. Featuring WWF's The Rock this is a well-planned and perfect sequel to 'The Mummy'. This box set will give both the brilliant masterpieces a chance to shine true. A must have for all film-lovers, no matter your preference.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 May 2013
This is one of those rare instances when an adventure film doesn't turn out to be a load of nonsense. Speilberg got it bang on with Indiana Jones, but since then very few seem to have got the formula right. The Mummy finally did, its got just about everything you'd want to keep you entertained for a few hours. Brendan Fraser's move away from silly comedies proved the right one as he's brilliant, as too is Rachel Weisz. Although this is remake of the Univeral Horror classic it's less in the horror vein and much more an adventure film. This Blu Ray transfer is stunning, I felt the surround audio could have been a little better utilsed, but that's minor. All in all a cracking film that you can easily stick on the shelf with Star Wars and Indy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2016
This movie is scary, fun and clever. I always have fun when I watch this one, it doesn't get old no matter how often I watch it. It is superior to the sub par sequel which was really only made for Universal because this one was so successful. No annoying child always getting into trouble, no bitchy reincarnated woman who wants to kill people and rule the world (a dragged put cliché in several movies) and it also has better effects. The plot is also quite simple and works and this is the one I stick with of the trilogy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2001
These films are two films that should not be missed by any. The Mummy is romance, comedy and adventure all rolled into one, with The Mummy Returns packing in the same kind of stuff. In The Mummy, you see how the characters meet, and you are taken on a whirlwind adventure, with surprises on the way. This film is what inspires you to see the next one. The Mummy Returns is how the characters are 10 years later, all related with a few new ones, and it provides the same laughs and adventure that the first one did. Both storylines were carefully thought out, and produced in an amazing way!
With strong characters like Brendan Fraser as Rick and Rachel Weisz as Evy, they bring both films together. The special effects for both are also amazing. Creatures that you know are not real, look like they are and some amazing scenes are done that you would hardly believe are not reality. These films are a must see for everyone, and a collection that is needed for all!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2001
I think we always try looking to deeply into movie meanings. I believe that these two films, (for a good example), are mean't for pure enjoyment, no deep meaning, no subliminal messages etc. Just sit back and relax and let the special effects, pretty people and Ancient Eygptian sets take over. No disrespect intended, cause I personally love anything to do with Eygpt, AND I think both movies are great! Thankyou Mr Sommers
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 March 2014
As far as films made for pure entertainement go this is one of the best. Below, more of my impressions with some limited SPOILERS.

In Thebes, Egypt, 1,290 BC, high priest Imhotep (Arnold Vosloo), a handsome man well versed in the arts of occult and black magic, engaged in an affair with Anck-su-Namun (Patricia Velasquez, sculptural), the favourite concubine of Pharaoh Seti I. When the affair was discovered, Imhotep and Anck-su-Namun murdered the monarch but when Seti's guards arrived, Imhotep fled while Anck-su-Namun killed herself. In her last words she implored Imhotep to bring her back to life with his dark magic... Those are the first two minutes and about the rest I will just say that quite fast after this introduction we are transported to Egypt in Year of Grace 1926 and then the film really begins.

This film is based mostly on a gallery of endearing or amusing characters, fast moving action and clever, witty dialogs. The main male character is an American adventurer Rick O'Connell (Brendan Fraser), about whom we just know that he used to serve in French Foreign Legion and that he is currently rotting in an Egyptian jail awaiting his execution. The main female character is Evelyn Carnahan (Rachel Weisz), a young British lady currently working as librarian but who is also an amateur Egyptologist.

Important secondary characters are:

- Jonathan Carnahan (John Hannah), Evelyn's brother, a kind of ne'er-do-well guy and the black sheep of his family
- Beni Gabor (Kevin J. O'Connor), a shady slimy character, a former subaltern of O'Connell before his desertion from French Foreign Legion
- Ardeth Bay (Oded Fehr, impressive), a mysterious Arab warrior
- Terrance Bay (Erick Avari), Egyptologist and Library supervisor, Evelyn's boss
- Gad Hassan (Omid Djalili), the warden of Egyptian prison and man in charge of O'Connell's execution
- Mr Burns, Mr Henderson and Mr Daniels, three American adventurers,
- Dr Allen Chamberlain, a British scientist who travels with the three American adventurers
- also lots of camels and flesh eating scarabs...)))

This film very desservedly earned a great reputation and also a gazillion of dollars when released in 1999 and of course was unavoidably followed by two very, very bad sequels, which I sincerely advise to avoid.

This is of course pure entertainment but it is very well done pure entertainment and the result is a funny, even merry, fast paced adventure film which can be easily watched in family (no strong language, not too scary) - rating it "15" is really an exaggeration. A film which can be watched numerous times and therefore worth purchasing. In one word - this film is JUICY...))) Enjoy!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a good film starring Brandon frazer as an archiologist in Egypt looking for past historical items but finding more than what he bargined for the story is strong a bit like indiana jones the special effects are good there are some strong characters in this film the only problem I jhad with this purchase is I bought Second hand and ended up with a region 1 copy rather than region 2 so I think one must buy brand new but the film is highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 January 2010
Sub-titles are in English SDH, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Japanese, Korean, Swedish, Danish, Finnish, Dutch, Norwegian, Portuguese and Traditional Mandarin.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
This film is brilliant and doesn't really loose its appeal over time. I had the original on VHS so wanted the DVD to replace this. Amazon are brilliant with delivery and this was no exception. I have enjoyed this film many times since and it is an amazing price and easy to find on Amazon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)