Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2011
This is the best book about anxiety that I've read so far. People who have experience with anxiety are sure familiar with the situations described in it, and most important, will find fresh and helpful ways to deal with it. They'll be able to analyze their emotions and discover why we hold on to our anxieties and fears despite wanting to get rid of them. It's a very eye-opening read, clearly written, which will let you start to change immediately.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
Gives a good breakdown of thought patterns to explain that you're not actually a complete basket case, just human. Shows how you can nurture yourself with compassion and see through the uncomfortable situations. I'm still working on it and it does help. If you suffer from anxiety you'll know just how terrifying it can be at times, you've got nothing to lose, I definitely recommend
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2016
Rather than avoid anxiety-provoking situations or grimly battle through them, this book attempts to find a 'third way' through anxeity by equipping the reader with the skills to live with the intense discomfort that anxiety can produce. I have rather severe anxiety that sometimes severely limits my life, and I worked through this book alone (English speaking counsellors are prohibitively expensive and not particularly accessible where I live) over a few months.
To be honest, I have not seen much improvement in the anxiety, though intuitively the book seems to have the right idea. On the other hand, I have found myself managing other areas of my life (such as a difficult child) with greater skill as a result of the mindfulness, and the approach to anxiety of 'interested compassion' has made life more bearable.
Worth a try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
This is a brilliant book for anyone suffering from anxiety. I did a Mindfulness course and this is re-enforcing and expanding what I learnt there. I am reading through it and doing all the exercises. It does not replace a therapist but it can help anyone while they are waiting for an appointment,
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
I have read many books on anxiety but this is by far the best. it takes the simple approach and teaches people how to perceive their anxiety in a different way. It takes time to get used to how it works but it does work.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
Great book, very helpful, and excellent exercises on the website.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
A fantastic book, I would fully recommend it .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
Really good book easy to read and understand
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2016
Great book written very sympathetically by two psychologists. But takes discipline and commitment to get the best from it. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
Used this now as a workbook with two clients. Very well written and presented. Easy and effective to use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse