Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars
76
2.9 out of 5 stars
The Million Pound Drop Game
Price:£20.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 October 2017
I expected this game to be made of plastic , like my friends version !
It was made of cardboard and took ages to put together and would not recommend it at all !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2011
The game itself its quite fun. The cards with the questions on are confusing when it comes to the answers to the questions. The rules state "The answers are on the opposite side of the card to the question itself". In face, the multiple choice OPTIONS are on the opposite side to the question, but the correct answers are actually on the same side of the card as the question. They really should be more clear about this one in the rule book, I think!
The table is made out of thick cardboard and the trapdoors are plastic, as well as the card holder part in the middle.
For RRP of £25, I think they could have designed it better and made the game battery operated, so you put the card in the slot, and it knows which trapdoors to drop though a microchip of some kind, or a remote to drop the doors one at a time at your choosing.
Aside from the glaring flaws of the product, it is actually quite fun to play, especially if you play in teams of two, and one I will be playing over the christmas with the family for sure!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
I bought this for the family to play on Christmas day and was extremely disappointed. Apart from the fact that the questions are too easy, the actual mechanism is abysmal. Pieces of cardboard with plastic trapdoor inserts that, to quote the instructions, the quizmaster has to "tap gently" to make drop. At which point there is a 75% chance that the insert itself will fall - maybe along with other trapdoors as well.

But the most inexcusable part is the fact that 9 of the question cards have the manufacturers template on them so are useless unless you want 18 questions of "Question, type on two lines if possible" and then pick from Answer A, B, C or D.

I appreciate that Drummond Park got the license very recently but rushing out this piece of junk is completely inexcusable.
11 Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
My daughter bought this with some birthday money & it's not cheap so felt very sorry for her as is a complete waste of money. The trap door contraption is made from cardboard that has to be folded into two to get it in the box and each fold has ripped so the contraption has now lots of sellotape holding it together. If you are lucky enough to push a trap door and the money falls down then the chances are they will all collapse. It's a shame because the concept is good, but it's made on the cheap. We now play it without the trap doors and use the questions and piles of money on a table - not quite the same!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
This is the worst game I have ever bought because of the abysmal quality. It is impossible to play because the plastic trapdoors fall off the cardboard frame designed to hold them, which defeats the whole object of the game. Very disappointing.The Million Pound Drop Game
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
We were very disappointed in the poor quality of the cardboard stand housing the trap doors. Each time we tried to use it, the trap doors collapsed and in the end we abandoned the game in frustration.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2012
I brought this game for a family Christmas present. The questions for the first 4 rounds (which on the TV show are usually relatively easier than the rest) were quite difficult and the answer did not always jump out at you (unlike the TV show). The game was however fun to play.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2011
I would like to agree with the person above i have never paid so much money for something that is made so badly. all the doors fall through and you have to have something under them to stop this. my kids in the end gave up using the stand it was on it was so frustrating for a birthday present.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
Brought this as a family Christmas game, we played it in large teams 6 team members + which was even more interesting as you got instant responses to questions and then uncertainty put in their minds by other members of the team. We are all adults 18+ so can't comment on it for younger age group. The construction was easy, but the money was small and a bit fiddly so cheated slightly and didn't place all the money on the trap doors all the time but just indicated how much. The construction could have been bigger altogether, which would have made it more fun placing the money on the trap doors and then letting it fall! After all thats what the name suggests! The Million pound drop! All in all the concept and entertainment value was very good, a good time had by all! Bigger and sturdy please.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2016
This game was so unremittingly abysmal that for once, there was complete unanimity amongst my off-spring. For the 20 minutes it took to assemble this game and discover the true extent of its awfulness there was quiet, uncomprehending collaboration as they desperately searched the instructions for anything that explained its total lack of anything to engage a player of even moderate intellect. Thankfully this game had been left on board the boat we were on by a previous owner so I had not wasted my own money on it. Its main value was in the hilarity it caused once we understood the size of the cheek the producers have in asking for money for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)