Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 June 2014
Needed a guide to help 13 year old daughter with her studies. Graduate daughter arrived at home while I am on computer, researching which book to buy.
Leaps straight onto Amazon to buy this copy with no hesitation whatsoever. " This is what we always used at school and they are brilliant !" She enthuses!
Have to say- these "York Notes" series are good. Clear notes, advice and other page cross referencing and study suggestions are all included amongst pages of play..... Very helpful and encouraging. I found them useful myself, in encouraging my daughter with her revision. For any other books she studies, I will definitely buy this company's study books as a first option.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
BRILLIANT!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2003
I used this book while doing my Gcse course and it was invaluable. The notes enabled me to cross reference with the actual play. Highlighted the important parts of the play. This book helped me gain my A*
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 February 2008
Barcode: 9780582506169

So, like most people, i used CGP notes while doing my GCSE's and founnd them mostly good (especially on the poem anthologies) - the humour though, while sometimes fun on many occasions got in the way of serious learning and the notes were brief when dealing with full length plays and novels.

Step in York Notes. For my A Level English i got one of these books for each of my set texts and they were massively helpful in prompting class discussions, writing essays and revising for the exams. They offer detailed chapter summaries and analyse them in an extremely informative way.

There's quotes too, maybe a little too few, but the ones they pick out are good and then at the end of the book you get a wealth of extra info relating to characters, themes and symbolism. If you're an A Level English student or a parent who wants their kids to do well, i'd get these notes - they make your life a lot, lot easier.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2012
These notes cover the relevant items for the GCES course and highlight the key aspects.

An invaluable resource for homework and getting an insight of what the play was about and attitudes of the time. For those who find Shakespeare difficult to relate to, it provides the context as well as what he actually meant with all the flowery language.

A good investment.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
This book was bought for my daughter who was studying this as part of her Foundation Course for University. She found the book a great help and would highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
This is an essential volume for all beginners of Shakespeare or the Theatre. It takes the reader/student through history and story line in easily understood language.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
The notes were useful and informative and presented a good summary of each chapter. It was a useful tool for revision and it served its purpose well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
Have been using York notes for research for years and was not diappointed with this one. Scene by scene notes with character analyses.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse