Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now New Album - Drake Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
16
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2009
Great book with a wide range of gym exercises using both free weights and machines. Easy to follow, well written and illustrated. There's no need to get bored doing the same gym exercises week after week. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2010
I am quite experienced with weights now and was basically looking for a book full of exercises to vary my routine a bit. The first chapters talk about "what to look for in a gym" and things like that, which is obviously targeted at a complete novice. As it goes on, there are hundreds of exercises throughout, well illustrated and explained, and suggestions about what exercises you should be doing depending on your experience. The back also includes workout logs and routines you could try depending on your goal. I would definately say its as close to a gym bible as you are going to get and would advise this to complete beginners or more experienced trainers looking to tweak their routine and increase their gains.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2011
This is a great book for anyone with very little/none knowledge about how to go about life in a gym. The book starts by providing general information about what gym to choose and why, and things to look out for when looking at gym contracts.

The it goes very in depth about what training can be done just using body weight, free weights and cardio machines giving plenty of information around wht exercises can be done and where this is exercising.

I do feel though that the book doesn't give enough information, the title would suggest that if you walked into any gym after reading this you would be able to operate every single piece of equipment they have to offer and be built like Arnie in a matter of months. However this isn't the case. If you are looking to lose weight (cardio) and use freeweights for many different exercises, then this book is an ideal place to start. But in terms of being able to really learn about a gym before using machines such as a resitiance machine for example. Asking for an Induction is probably your best bet.

Still a good book, and for the price, it's a bargain.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
Bought this as a little gift for my partner who is gym mad.
Plenty of pictures and information and lots of ideas for workouts at home or at the gym.
I have even started to look at this book myself.
Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2010
It is really a bible. You can find a LOT of exercises well explained, telling you which muscle group each exercise is making you work. It's a good book, quite big though A4 format, and thick. Keeping it on my bedside table and good to flick through. Highly recommend it for beginners and intermediate training.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
great book baught it for my son, well worth the money,
large and very informative, easy to understand, and well written, can not go wrong with this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2010
Bought to expand my knowledge on weights exercises, and found it did the job. I have found however, that I use the Men's Health one more as it has clearer pictures and feels more solid with colour. Though I'm not saying this book is all that bad, I bought both!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2012
Purchased this item in February. Been using it regularly since.

First a note on delivery timings. Book was ordered on a Saturday afternoon. Dispatched Sunday. Arrived Monday, (I have Amazon Prime).

The book arrived in standard Amazon cardboard wrap packaging. Fuss free removal. Book itself was in good condition, no visible dog ears or spine cracks etc.

With regards to the book itself.

The book is clearly targeted at the complete gym novice with the intention of progressively taking them to a good level of competence. Lots of pictures detailing each exercise with clear instructions on how to go about executing them, as well as tips on maximizing gains during the particular rep. Clear information on safety concerns and issues as well.

All in all, good value for money. Recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
Great Book Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2012
Excellent book, understand how nutrition works, how your muscles work. Should be a chapter in there though stating 1) Do not grunt in the gym like you're giving birth, makes you look weak. 2) Do not drop the weights so it makes a massive bang, if you're that desperate for attention get a cat, if you can pick the weight up, you can put it down, and 3) vests...........no, unless you cant get your arms in a t-shirt or its ok for vest and shorts, but these gym monkeys who have been going for a week and decide a vest and cotton trackie bottoms look good, please consult your mirror, you look a tool.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)