Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 28 April 2013
I bought this as a gift for my dad who was born in Salford 70+ years ago and Manchester was always his stomping ground. He LOVED it. It was great for him to find out all about buildings and streets that he's walked past or along for many years and never really given much thought to. He definitely recommends it to people interested in the city. If it is indeed true that Manchester City fans (many of whom appear unable to spell very simple words)have some ridiculous vendetta against this book then Amazon should do something about it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2017
This book is great to dip into but I know some people, particularly Man City fans, have objected to the occasional bit of editorialising which they didn’t like. Author Ed Glinert, who, though from London, is a well-known tour guide in Manchester, is supposed to be working on an encyclopaedia of Manchester similar to the fantastic Peter Ackroyd one about London. Quite an undertaking. But this small book is a bit like a trial run for such a book. He’s really knowledgeable and ‘a snapper up of unconsidered trifles’, which is what you want from a book like this one. I’d love to see the encyclopaedia of my old home town, if it ever comes into being, but in the mean time I’m quite happy to make do with this excellent little volume.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
It seems I was a little late in coming to this book. I lap up anything connected with the city of Manchester as I grew up close to the city centre in the 50s and 60s. This book kept me interested all through the recent Christmas holidays and as someone else said in a review it was only the lack of a few maps or diagrams that it didn't get 5 stars.

I think it's hilarious that all those 1 star reviews were written at approx. the same time to discredit the author and this book. I personally never even looked at the reviews at the time I decided I wanted it as a present. As if anyone would take what these people said seriously , most of those reviews looked as if they were regurgitating what others has said just because of some implied slight over ,of all things, football. Oh please , credit the great reading public with a little intelligence in future ,all you 1 star reviewers!

I found all the information very easy to read and loved the street by street aspect. I just had one of my Godfrey maps with me whilst reading which helped put everything in place. I was totally absorbed and would recommend the book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2010
For anyone who has a tourist, historical or just a celebratory interest in this amazing city this is essential. It is informative both for the sofa enthusiast for the city and for a passionate walker who wishes to test out all the information that is provided. The book blends curiosity and trivia with real scholarship. While it is a celebration of the city it also looks at the dark side and the sometimes grim history and, despite the real efforts of the regeneration agencies, the continuning sharp inequalities experienced by Mancunians today.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
A very personal and at times selective, not always accurate, somewhat chaotic in layout but informative and eminently readable.

If you've just arrived in this metropolis of the North West and are wondering where you'd ended up, then grab this book. It is a collection of historical anecdotes, some true, others less so, covering all that you should know about Mancunia. From Romans to Tony Wilson, from the Plaza to Marx and Engels, it is all there, organised not by time but by place.

Grab this book, read it, put it in your pocket and walk the streets of Manchester with it as your private little guide friend. It might help you understand what Manchester is all about, because as with all great cities it is not just the buildings that make it but also the stories and lives attached to them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2011
Firstly, a confession, as the nom de plume indicates I am a United fan, and so may be accused of being as biased as the 1 star brigade below. Which, as "The Genealogist" has pointed out, are part of a concerted campaign by a Manchester City FC website. The cause apparently being a couple of mild digs in their direction by Ed Glinert.
For those not familiar with Manchester football politics, a brief (and not entirely objective) résumé may assist. For large periods of the twentieth century United and City competed quite equally, all this changed in the 1990s when City sunk to the third tier of English football and United won just about everything. Added to this, United had gained worldwide prominence as a result of its survival from the 1958 Munich air disaster (when a young and highly promising team was lost on its pioneering challenge for European glory, but whose successors went on to achieve this goal 10 years later). The result was that United's support had spread worldwide. To assuage their pain City fans invented a (quite clever and certainly effective) myth that all Mancunians supported City. This gained credence throughout the country, particularly as other football fans in far away places like Surrey were irked by neighbours cheering on United trophies in their locals. This was all quite fine, until (like the Scousers before them) the City fans began to believe their own myth, and a troglodyte Mancunian tendency was born (viz "Liam Gallagher"): narrowly inward-looking, and so an effective denial of this once world-shaking and cosmopolitan city. This means that any reference to Manchester that doesn't blow smoke up their collective rear ends is howled down as heresy. Mr Glinert has fallen foul of this. Hence, the group references to him not being a Mancunian, as: Only A True Mancunian Can Of Manchester Write.
But to the book itself. I have found it to be excellent, full of interesting anecdotes, arranged, as the title suggests, on a street by street basis. True it lacks maps. As a native Mancunian (see I'm at it now) I didn't find this to be a problem, but a visitor would need to buy a separate guide (and as the book also doesn't do the tourist information bit re best hotels , bars, restaurants etc. most already would?). But as someone who has worked all his life in and around the city centre (there I go again) I have still found much to inform and delight me. This is well worth the money and I would heartily recommend it to anyone with an inquiring mind and an interest in Manchester.
To return to the negative reviews, and echoing 'The Genealogist', it is a shame that Amazon facilitates a concerted campaign to effectively, and unmeritedly, damage some-one's livelihood. I had seen this book before on Amazon but (I'm ashamed to say) didn't investigate further given it's woefully low star-rating. It was only when I began to read it, having been given it as a present, that I went back to see how such an excellent product could be rated so badly. A lesson to me, certainly. As a son of this liberal city I'm naturally inclined against censorship, but it can't be right that such lying comments can be made and left with impunity. How many of these people have so much as opened this book, though most claim to have purchased it. They pose as innocent reviewers yet I can find only one of them to have reviewed another book (The Big Book Of City no less). They all claim that the book is littered with factual errors, and also plagiarised; but offer no proof (isn't this slander?). The only one to attempt examples is "P. Butcher" (a cockney Eastender, surely!) , who writes:
"Amongst the errors are: page 38 the MCFC auction was predominantly performed at Hyde Rd not the Queen's Hotel.
page 48 - the 'unusual' sight of City winning the FA Cup (at that point in history City had won the FA Cup more times than Utd!)
page 65 - he talks of Utd's 1909 homecoming as if it was the greatest sporting homecoming the city had ever seen - that actually happened 5 years earlier with City!
page 137 - all about City is skewed towards negativity with some of Manchester's biggest triumphs ignored or ridiculed.
page 139 are wholly insulting about Swift and Munich."
All of these complaints are subjective and cannot, therefore, be classed as factual errors. Even the first doesn't deny the auction at the Queen's Hotel (which I have seen well attested to elsewhere), but merely asserts that it "was predominantly performed at Hyde Rd not the Queen's Hotel".
In short, although written by an "alien" this book is better representative of Manchester than are its parochial detractors.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2010
ninety plus percent of the one star reviews were written on the same day, many use the same language, all the reviewers have only reviewed this book apart from one who also reviewed a book about Man City FC( I rest my case), many mention the author is a Londoner and other biased comments where they think he is a Man U fan, he is not, shame on Amazon for not clearly seeing this is an orchestrated campaign by Man City fans who did not like some of the authors comments about their team.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
Great book, if you like this kind of reading then this is the book for you! Good story as well, as a great author!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2010
I just wanted to defend this extremely informative and entertaining book. After carefully reading all the reviews I became aware that many of the 'complaints' did not mention specific flaws or errors in the book, and there were quite a few Manchester City FC references. I searched on the internet for the author Ed Glinert and found a Manchester City Football Club supporters website called bluemoon-mcfc where there were appaling and threatening obscenities written about Ed Glinert and this book. Below are excerpts from the bluemoon-mcfc website recommending their members to write on Amazon on 5th November 2009.(Please note you will see the majority of negative reviews for this book were added to Amazon on or shortly after 5th November 2009);

"...Get on Amazon and review the hard back and paper back, I've just given it one star and a damming review and it's knocked 1/2 a star off its overall rating....

I dare say a large number on here have Amazon accounts so get to it...

Don't be too obvious just give it crummy over all ratings..don't go in to a rant about City/United etc... and it will have a real affect on sales..

Suggest a rival book in your review aswell such as Crime City etc.. as most people will definitely not buy a book if a few reveiwers advise another one instead.."

AND

"...Just keep the 1 star reviews coming in on Amazon for all his books..."

AND

"...I've done my review. Has the book been out a while? Because if it has and there's a sudden glut of reviews and interest, it's obvious what has happened.

Obvious that perhaps dozens of people have reviewed it and none mentioned football, he he he

The question would be why have so many people been negative about a piddling little book?

Well its simply that bad that Manchester has risen up to defend its honour.

Its also ironic that Manchesters motto - "Consilio et Labore" roughly translates as "wisdom and effort", neither of which can be associated with his work.

(Please feel free to use that line in any new reviews on Amazon ;-) )..."

AND FINALLY..

"...5) Continue to downgrade his book by giving it bad reviews wherever it is sold online...."

Members on that website appeared to be wanting to launch a vendetta on this author in order to 'punish' him because of his personal views about their favourite football team. They posted his photo online and suggested that people travel up to Manchester to go on one of his walks and basically give him a hard time. I do not believe that Ed Glinert deserves the substantial negative feedback on Amazon, so please - if you have read and enjoyed this book, let's try and redress the balance.
22 Comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
Loved this book. Broken into districts so you can dip in and out. I am stunned by the sheer number of poor reviews, has he upset someone who has taken the time to post a load of drivel. Looks like a conspiracy to me because it's a highly informative and well researched book. It's a great piece of work, highly recommeded.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)