Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2012
This beautifully written and sensitive book really illustrated the plight of Egyptian Jewry during the time of their expulsion from Egypt in the fifties. The author has magically brought alive from the streets of Cairo and Alexandria the wonderful life her family had been enjoying until this tragic point in their lives. Then pushing on even further, to their new lives to the streets of New York. How did her family, especially her father, manage to continue their lives in the alien surroundings so far from their home.

Not enough has been written about this tragic event, which changed so many lives!

I look forward to reading further works by Lucette Matalon Lagnado
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
I had read Lucette's follow up book about her mother first and enjoyed that. But this had something extra. I read the final pages weeping and I don't normally do this when reading a book. I too left a country in a rush as a child and returned many years later....the sudden exodus does leave a mark. Lucette is honest and humorous and her depiction of her father is amazingly touching yet she does not idealise him. Pauvre Loulou indeed!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2011
"The man in the white sharkskin suit" was written by a journalist for the Wall Street Journal, so it goes without saying that this is a beautifully written piece of work. Drawing together the memories and recollections of members of her family from before she was born, Lagnado conjures up images of a sophisticated and cosmopolitan Cairo that is apparently now largely lost. She then recounts how the Jewish community in Egypt fell on difficult times, forcing them to fan out across the world. Lagnado ended up in the US, a section of the book that is no less interesting than the Cairo chapters.

I very much recommend this book, to anybody really but in particular to those interested in Jewish and Egyptian recent history.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2010
I ENJOYED EVERY PAGE OF THIS BOOK,MIGHT BE A BIT BIASED AS MY HUSBUND HAS SIMILAR
BACKGROUND,BUT EASY TO READ ,HAPPY SAD HAD IT ALL.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2010
A beautifully written, sensitive account of a family in Old Cairo, and their subsequent flight to America.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
Very interesting reading about King Farouk's cosmopolitan Cairo, the changes there after, and all that happened within this Jewish family after Colonel Nasser took control with the surrounding takeover of the Suez Canal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2012
This is a marvellous book, beautifully written and all the more interesting as it is the true story of a family who once lived quite happily in Cairo and how their life was affected over a period of time. A very sad story really and this has been happening more and more as the Arab Spring gains ground. I have recommended this book to all my book reading friends and all have been really affected by the story with pictures of the family. A must read book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2012
I was recommended this book and so pleased I read it. I found it so interesting, and learned a lot from it. It is easy to read and quite fascinating.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
Great read! A wonderful recount of a Jewish family living in Egypt under King Farouk and subsequent rule. Compelling reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Very interesting book about how the jews were thrown out of Egypt which I knew little about before reading Sipping From the Nile which peaked my interest in this part of recent history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)