Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 December 2011
Gardner Dozois has once again shown their remarkable talent in being able to once again compile an excellent an enjoyable anthology of new science fiction. Their ability to identify current trends but not be beholden to them is a real skill and the reason I buy each volume in this series when it's released.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
I have to say that on balance I found it to be only about 40% good Sci-Fi, and the rest fairly unsatisfying stories - often not actually *science* fiction, invariably the worse stories have been the long ones, confusing, and without a punchy ending, not even making you think much at the end or along the way. Quite odd, considering the pedigree of each writer, as summarised in a short intro before each story. My favourite one was The Things by Peter Watts - reimagining the plot of the classic Sci-Fi horror film The Thing, from the perspective of the "thing" organism itself. You can actually read it for free, completely legally on the Clarkesworld Magazine website: http://clarkesworldmagazine.com/watts_01_10/ But overall, this massive book has been more of a chore than a pleasure to plough through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
I bought this book at the same time as I bought 'The Year's Best Science Fiction 28th annual collection ed Gardner Dozois and they are exactly the same! Amazon should have made this clear!
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
The quality contines on, I have read most of this series. This is without any doubt the best series of books for the SF enthusiast. Don, t be put off by the dodgy cover artwork which is usually excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
I have most of the editions from 18 to 26 apart from 25. Very high quality writing. Great reads for long flights or the daily commute on public transport.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
Many interesting stories. Each story is different and can be understood and enjoyed. I would buy another book of lots of stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
If you are a short story sci fi fan these are for you. Be aware that they are the same books as collections published in the US under a different name.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2015
Great Stories from a Master Anthologist year on year
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
I've found these anthologies the best way to find out about new and upcoming SF authors. In fact, one of the very first 'Best of SF' books was responsible for reigniting my interest in SF. These are also incredible value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
Gardner Dozois edits one of these mammoth books regularly and if you like science fiction, they are always worth reading for the variety in the various stories he collects.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse