Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
307
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2014
I have read all of Dawkins books and most of them as a lot of people would admit are very heavy and intense.

This is most likely due to the subject matter being incredibly complex within the world of biology and evolution.

For the magic of reality, I found it to be an excellent summary of the different branches of science. Chemistry, biology and physics. Enough to give you a good insight but just the mere tip of the iceberg if you wish to explore these subjects further.

A definite recommended read for all those just wanting to increase their general (scientific knowledge)

Only gripe is it was a little short.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
The book really does show that science and facts are much more amazing than the fairy stories of religions around the world - ALL religions. Being brought up in a religious family taught me lots of good things about being respectful, kind and generous. We need to start teaching these things to our children in a way that isn't based around fairy stories. Based around what's right, what's kind, what's fair, what's reasonable. Religion is just lazy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
Didn't get to past the second chapter. I think even a ten year old would find the style patronising. Very disappointing indeed. I'm only talking the trouble to write this so you don't make the mistake of thinking this is in the usual Dawkins style. It should be promoted as for children not for 'all ages'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
During the course of this book, several common phenomena has been described to us in layman's term. Making what in most cases are quite complicated subject's seem slightly less so is after all what science is about. Making something simple but not simpler.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
Great for teaching young people how to think scientifically. It takes every day mysterious and de-mystifies them through logical deduction and science. Help teach a child how to observe the world around us and arm them with the weapon of "free thinking"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
This book is so interesting and easy to read. It's not written in complicated scientific language, but at the same time it's not dumbed down excessively. The layout and length of the chapters makes it an easy book to come back to if you'd prefer to read it in sections.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
In my opinion this is Dawkins's best written book in terms of entertainment. Whilst not as influential as The Selfish Gene, this book tackles several issues in the logical and witty manner that we expect from him and is well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
This is a wonderful book and will interest young people and give them an advantage in learning and understanding. Richard Dawkins is a leading mind in biology and science and it is like attending a lecture with him. Wonderful read for all especially the young.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
What I expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse