Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
78
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2009
The penultimate book in the series and easy to see that the author has the finale in mind. I've read all of the earlier books in the series and, as many other reviewers have commented, the quality of the writing hardly knocks you out, but the author compensates with well thought out battle scenes and a decent plot. The first couple of chapters were embarrassingly wooden as Campbell tries to portray Geary as full of self doubt, depending on Desjani to shake him out of this. Once the author gets back to his strengths - away from building characters and on to space battles, the book works a whole lot better. Despite cringing a lot at the dialogue in the earlier part of the book I will be saving up my £5 for the final instalment.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
This is a really good book in the Lost Fleet series. Black Jack is in good form and manages to keep nearly all his fleet together and on the way home
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
Brilliant and fast flowing space born excitement Jack does it again, highly recommend this series this is the fourth time of reading and I know it won't be my last
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
This is book five in the series and continues on an excellent story, I've been unable to put the books down since I started reading this epic adventure. It would have given this 5 stars if the last book had been available on Kindle but it isn't and I don't think its likely to be either. But the rest of the books are still worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
will be buying more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
fifth [of sixth] in a series of military science fiction novels involving two groups of humans called the alliance and the syndics who are in an interstellar war. when an alliance fleet is trapped in enemy space their only hope for survival is long lost legendary warrior john geary, who assumes command of the fleet and tries to get them home.

If you've not read any of this series before then go to the following review of the first volumeDauntless (The Lost Fleet, Book 1) and read that before deciding to try it. Whilst the first chapter of this volume does give new readers all the information they need to know to jump onboard you'd be better off starting at the beginning.

If you have been following this series from the start, then read on.

This latest volume runs for three hundred and twenty pages and has twelve chapters. The writing style is as before. not great literature but perfectly readable, with space battles interdispered with fleet politics and discussions on the morality and ethics of honour and warfare.

regular readers will want to know how this one progresses the story, given that it's the penultimate volume.

so, without giving any spoilers away, let's say this:

the fleet really does make some progress in this one, and what happens to them does move the story forward well and set up a finale very nicely.

the enemies within the fleet plotline is dealt with and would appear to be wrapped up satisfactorily.

geary's love triangle doesn't get much discussion. rione seemingly stays out of that picture and his relationship with tanya will clearly not be resolved till the final volume.

the aliens are still not seen but their presence is felt. A moment late on when you realise what they're up to will make you gasp.

and whilst geary does win a big battle here, he's yet to win the war.

so all in all this does a good job of moving things on and setting up the finale. a little of bit of research reveals that the lost fleet: victorious, will be out next year. with a title like that it sounds as if it should wrap it all up. and I look forward to reading it.
33 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2009
Without giving any spoilers...things do start to happen in this book, the numerous in fleet issues begin to be resolved and the fleet does have some more battles and makes some more progress getting home.

I would like to say that the author is listening to feedback on the earlier books, but although there is slightly less repetition of stuff we know it is still there unfortunately, and there are still painful/dull/silly scenes with Rione and Desjani.

Having said that I get the impression the book is shorter than previous instalments and whilst things progress nothing much new is added to the plot, so I must admit I was a bit underwhelmed, even a bit disappointed.

Overall, I have to say a good fun read, nice to see progress of the fleet but at the same time I could do with a longer book and less of the silly romantic/social interactions with President Rione & Captain Desjani - they are getting a bit annoying now.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the fifth book of the Lost Fleet series, and while you probably can read it without benefit of the previous four novels, you will miss a lot. Its best to start with Dauntless and go on from there. There are only a few battles this time around, but there are Big Events aplenty, including the unmasking of the mutineers within the Fleet, and a personal understanding coming into place with Captain Desjani which is as much a struggle as a full Fleet engagement.

Victoria Rione is still around Geary, acting as a politician counterpart to his role as military leader - and also taking on necessary responsibilities to allow the Fleet to avoid playing politics and itself committing treason - from a certain point of view.

At the end of the story, the Lost Fleet is finally home, and may have a chance to win - or rather end - the century old Syndic War. The problems are that:
1. Nobody, least of all the politicians, is prepared for or can even remember peace; and
2. The Aliens are out there somewhere, and they are not friendly.

All of this means there is a bit to do as yet for Geary.

This series is interesting on a number of levels: it can be read as Space Opera with massed fleets and flying weaponry, and also as a treatise on the theory behind civilian control of the military, in circumstances where such control is in fact neither efficient nor effective. I would imagine that in the most part the view ultimately taken is preaching to the converted, but the journey is made hard, not easy: to a significant degree there are parallel journeys being taken by the Lost Fleet both in a physical and psychological (for want of a better word) sense. In fact, now I type that I realise that itself you can interpret the title "Lost Fleet" in a number of ways when you think about what state the Fleet was in at the start of Book 1.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2009
I would agree with pretty much everything the other reviewer has said but I would give it 5 stars because it is a first class addition to a first class series.

I can't wait to see how it all ends in Book 6.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2009
This book, (Relentless (Lost Fleet)) like the previous four in the series, was outstanding. I cannot wait for the last book in the series to be published. Jack Campbell is an accomplished writer of space novels. His descriptions of space battles are a joy to behold. The reader can easily imagine the relative positions of every ship taking part in each fight. The characters and the relationships between characters in the books are precise and unambiguous, Mr Campbell and (one of my other favourite writers) Anne Mcaffery seem equally able to describe the foibles and intimate feelings of the populations of their books. Such is the enjoyment of this series of books that I have schooled myself to read them very slowly, my normal speed reading technique wastes the pleasure to be had from such material. The books in this series are among the very few that I can read more than once.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here