Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
19
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 30 August 2016
The story is set in 1870, shortly after the American Civil War. Elizabeth Lloyd (Evelyn Venable) marries Jack Sherman (John Lodge) a Yankee, much against her fathers wishes. Her father (Lionel Barrymore) is a stern Confederate who bans her from setting foot in his house ever again!

Six years later Elizabeth and Jack are living in the cottage she inherited from her late Mother. They have a high spirited daughter called Lloyd (Shirley Temple).
Because she is so bossy she is made an honorary colonel in the Army by the head commander. Lloyd tries to keep her Mother happy while her Dad is away in the west looking for gold.

Lloyd's grandfather finds her in his garden one day and the two get into a fight! They are both very stubborn and the girl throws mud at him and he chases her all the way home. But In the days that follow the two begin to become good friends.

Walker the butler (Bill Robinson) who works in her grandfathers house, takes a liking to Lloyd and teaches her how to dance up and down the stairs.

Lloyd's Dad comes back sick and conned out of his money by two crooks. How he gets his money back and what role the grandfather plays in this forms the climax in the film.

An interesting fact. Evelyn Venable would later do the voice of the blue fairy in Walt Disney's Pinocchio. She would also be the model for the fairy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
Shirley Temple was not only a brilliant child star and a complete natural in her acting but also an amazing dancer! Love the little boy who played Henry Clay as well - so cute! Bill Robinson is an amazing tap dancer and a lovely actor of course. A lovely simple story and a film that makes you smile many times. Chose to watch it in colour rather than black and white and found it to be good quality considering it was made in 1939. The famous scene tap dancing with Bill Robinson up the stairs at bed time is absolutely marvellous! I have watched this film twice already and will be watching it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Got this after Shirley temple died and enjoyed watching it so much we got the mother in law one.Good film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
This is a great reproduction of a fantastic movie . . .and Shirley Temple is amazing in it . . .also great features like colour/b/w viewing options and very impressive colour for the time.

However . . .something I hadnt realised previously is that the whole issue of race is a feature of Shirley Temple's Deep South movies . . .and for children who dont normally see/register colour or race in their contemporaries - I found myself struggling to explain to my daughter the divisions that were evident in the movie. 'Mummy, why is the other little girl not invited to the birthday party' . . .etc.

So . . .prepare yourself for a barrage of questions that are difficult to answer unless you want to do a full on lesson on slavery and the shameful politics and history of American Southern States . . .with your four year old.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2017
I bought this film to see the tap dance routines of Mr Bill (Bojangles) Robinson - the man - the Black actor who's life and work was honoured in death as 32,000 people felt compelled to file past his open casket/coffin. I was disappointed that the stair tap dance routine came 3/4 way through the film - which is near the end. But my 5 Stars goes out to this superior superstar that died penniless.
Bill Robinson stars as Walker, Colonel Lloyd’s butler.

The film also stars Hattie McDaniel as Becky 'Mom Beck' Porter, Elizabeth’s housekeeper.
The Wikipedia profile of her:- Hattie McDaniel was an "African American actress, singer-songwriter, and comedian. She is best known for her role as Mammy in Gone with the Wind (1939), for which she won the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress, the first Academy Award won by an African American. In addition to acting in many films, McDaniel was a professional singer-songwriter, comedian, stage actress, radio performer, and television star; she was the first black woman to sing on the radio in the U.S. She appeared in over 300 films, although she received screen credits for only 80 or so. McDaniel has two stars on the Hollywood Walk of Fame in Hollywood: one at 6933 Hollywood Boulevard for her contributions to radio and one at 1719 Vine Street for acting in motion pictures. In 1975, she was inducted into the Black Filmmakers Hall of Fame and in 2006 became the first black Oscar winner honored with a US postage stamp".

The social changes and the fashion changes are quite remarkable.
The dresses worn by Evelyn Venable who stars as Elizabeth Lloyd Sherman - those dresses with the big bow at the back and goodness knows how many layers of undergarments and underskirts, because that was the fashion of the day, those dresses didn't do her figure any justice at all as they make her bum look big.

Shirley Temple was her usual 'impudent' self - as the daughter of Elizabeth and Jack Sherman, and granddaughter to Colonel Lloyd

The DVD copy I received gives you the option to watch the movie in Black and White or Colour, I chose to watch the colour version and found the the quality wasn't good, the dubs, sound effects and timings are not synchronised with the moving picture.

Thank You!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 August 2007
20th Century Fox presents "THE LITTLE COLONEL" (released: 22 February 1935) (80 mins) (B&W/Color Versions) - Under David Butler (Director), Buddy G. DeSylva (Producer), William Conselman (Screenwriter), Annie Fellows Johnston (Book Author), Arthur C. Miller (Cinematographer), William Skall (Cinematographer), Art Lange (Musical Direction/Supervision), Thomas Moore (Composer (Music Score), Irene Morra (Editor) - - - - - - our story line opens with crusty old Colonel Lloyd (Lionel Barrymore) is used to having his ornery way so when he finds out his daughter Elizabeth (Evelyn Venable) who is determined to run off with Yankee Jack Shermon (John Lodge) to be married, he confronts her in a heated exchange and vows never to see her again if she does, and then she leaves --- years later Elizabeth, with her husband and their young daughter Miss Lloyd (Shirley Temple), decides to return to a small house that belonged to her mother and which happens to be next door to her stubborn father's home --- they soon have an accidental meeting, with a few clashes of granddaughter and the elderly Colonel just to see who is the most stubborn! --- Troubles descend on the Sherman family through some persuasive dishonest men who are out to rob them of their legal rights, and things start to get serious but grandpa comes to the rescue --- some highlights with Becky (Hattie McDaniel) and Walker (Bill 'Bojangles' Robinson) certainly add some amusing dialog and Robinson's tap dancing is superb --- Not surprisingly, little Shirley is right in there keeping pace with him as they both tap dance up the stairs --- There will never be a child star to match Shirley Temple: A born actress, dancer, and entertainer --- but if you need a feel good moment checkout a Shirley Temple film.

the cast includes:
Shirley Temple ... Miss Lloyd Sherman
Lionel Barrymore ... Col. Lloyd
Evelyn Venable ... Elizabeth Lloyd Sherman
John Lodge ... Jack Sherman
Bill 'Bojangles' Robinson ... Walker
Sidney Blackmer ... Swazey
Alden 'Stephen' Chase ... Hull
William Burress ... Dr. Scott
Frank Darien ... Nebler
Robert Warwick ... Col. Gray
Hattie McDaniel ... Becky ('Mom Beck') Porter
Geneva Williams ... Maria
Avonnie Jackson ... May Lily
Nyanza Potts ... Henry Clay
Bill 'Bojangles' Robinson ... Walker

BIOS:
1. Shirley Temple
Date of Birth: 23 April 1928 - Santa Monica, California
Date of Death: Still Living

If you enjoyed this film, check out 20th Century Fox present "The Shirley Temple - America's Sweetheart Collection, Vol. 1" (Heidi/Curly Top/Little Miss Broadway) (Fully Restored/Dolby Digitally Remastered) --- now in COLOR and Glorious Black and White --- In 2004, Shirley Temple teamed with Legend Films to restore, colorize and release her earliest black and white films, as well as episodes of her 1960 television series, The Shirley Temple Storybook Collection --- a patented coloring and remastering process makes her picture perfect charm more vivd than ever --- no one can resist Shirley's charm in all her heart warming films.

Hats off and thanks to Barry B. Sandrew Ph.D. (Founder, COO & CTO) and his Legend Films Staff --- looking forward to more high quality releases from the vintage era of the '20s, '30s & '40s --- order your copy now from Amazon where there are plenty of copies available on DVD --- if you enjoyed this title, why not check out Legend Films where they are experts in releasing long forgotten films and treasures to the collector --- all my heroes have been cowboys!

Total Time: 81 mins on DVD ~ 20th Century Fox. ~ (3/21/2006)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
not great quality but enough for what i needed (reviewing the tap dancing and in particular Bill Bojangles Robinson's stair dance!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2011
a woderful family film, i watched it as a child with my mum and now i am doing the same with my children. a true classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Funny film. Perfect family viewing. would recommend it to others. Bought it as a gift for my niece and she loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
i love shirly temple dvds i got this for my dad he loved it made his day thank you for good service from amazon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)