Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
24
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2013
Two very talented ladies. Fab songs and harmonies.I became aware of them through (Channel 4's)Live at Abbey road series.This was ordered as a xmas pres to ourselves.

The things that lets this down are threefold. Firstly and most important the drowning of the whole cd in reverb. This pushes the voices into the background and makes listening to more than a couple of tracks quite wearing. A dryer production would have felt much more intimate and in the room. Secondly there is not a moment of silence anywhere. A pad of organ-like keyboards pervades and there are unnecessary drums etc. poking through. This just emphasises the lacck of intimacy. Third the vocal recording is in places quite honky as though the wrong room, microphone or eq setting has been used.

My wife likes this more than I do. I have only listened to this once (which unfortunately is probably all I will).

Sort the production, have the confidence to strip back to the music and ditch the Lexicon / metal oil drum effects.

Update 07-04-2013. I did listen again and I agree with my original verdict still 2 stars. I am glad others are enjoying this though.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
Maybe it's my age or maybe there is a genuine difference between today's 'indie country' bands and classic 'country' (which I've historically despised!). In any case, I found this a lovely listen with enough indie bite to avoid pressing my negative country buttons, whilst its unquestionable country element adds a high degree of charm.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
Great album from First Aid Kit, demonstrating a different sound from their previous offerings but with those same beautiful harmonies, powerful melodies and touching lyrics. This special edition also includes the latter release single 'Wolf' which is well worth the extra pennies alone. Also includes poster of (I think) artwork from the 'Wolf' single cover, First Aid Kit guitar pick and a booklet with song lyrics and information. All packaged in a neat little box with new artwork.

Highly recommend to anyone with an interest in acoustic/folk/indie/americana especially, with some universally loveable tracks that will touch anyone...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
This is an album inspired by the country music of Emmy-Lou Harris and similar artists. There are some great tunes and lovely harmonies. This version also includes a guitar pick, poster and a few extra tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
Instant classic album from the best female voices since Emmylou. 'The Lions Roar', tribute song 'Emmylou' and 'King of the World' with Conor Oberst are absolute magic, and the rest of the album is strong. It's truly amazing how much great country influenced music comes out of Scandinavia - finally the Swedes are giving the Norwegians (St Thomas, Midnight Choir) some competition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
Great country folk outing from these swedish sisters. Beautiful voices and strong songs. The expanded edition is worth the extra cash.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
Bought this after being to see them play live in manchester and haven't stopped listening to it since! Definitely recommend First Aid Kit, they have a beautiful chilled out sound with some great harmonies, very relaxing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2012
This album is packed full of moving touching songs by these two talented sisters from Sweden. Some instantly catchy like Blue and Emmylou. Others which gradually grow on you like Lions Roar. The basis for the sound is country but also is influenced by folk rock and indie.This version is well worth buying with bonus tracks, plectrum, booklet and poster. Buy this album you wont be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2012
I already had the standard edition but I'm such a big fan that I couldn't miss this! Spot on, brilliant extras for a brilliant album!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
This is a terrific CD every track worth a listen, they are getting better all the time and I can't wait for the next offering from them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)