Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
111
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The Libertines' self entitled second and final album was an excellent follow up to 'Up The Bracket', I'm still not sure if it is superior, despite being more successful, but it's definitely five star worthy.

The album instantly reached the top spot in the UK and contains the band's biggest hit 'Can't Stand Me Now' and their final single 'What Became of the Likely Lads'. There is quite a sadness to this album which the debut didn't really have, as most of the songs tell the story of the volatile relationship between the band's singer/guitarist front men Carl Barât and Pete Doherty. The lyrics are obviously then more heartfelt, some tracks have a much more melodic style, but a lot of the songs remain as catchy as ever, notably 'What Katie Did'.

'What Became Of The Likely Lads' is one of The Libertines' best songs, and the perfect way to close the album out. The track is most fitting, essentially it's a happy tune, upbeat and jolly, but when you concentrate on the lyrics, you'll realise how touching it is considering the back story. The nostalgic lyrics are filled with moments of bitterness and sadness, and refer to the breakdown of the friendship between Pete and Carl, and the subsequent collapse of The Libertines.

I think that this album was certainly a grower (for me at least), it was after all going to be hard to make an album of the same standard as the debut, but with 'The Libertines', I think they just about succeeded. Whilst it's a shame that only two albums were made, this influential band made some of the best indie music of the day, and started the whole revival of the British rock scene. A great achievement!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
Born in the 80s but head's in the 60s. The Jam did it so much better...at least they were BORN in 60s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
Cracking CD came quickly and in immaculate condition my friend loved his birthday present!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2004
At a first listen I thought this could never live up to 'Up the Bracket' - which had been my favourite album of all time. Now it's changed: when I'm happy 'Up the Bracket' is my favourite album, when I'm sad 'The Libertines' is.
The Libertines is heartbreaking if you know the story of Pete and Carl. It is a history of the libertines, songs that in demos used to be happy and uplifting such as "Music when the Lights go Out" and "What Katie Did" are tear-jerking, especially the former. The album makes me want to cry sometimes, but I've always thought that's a good thing in music. Anything that can evoke such a strong emotion in me is fantastic. 'Can't Stand me now' and 'What Became of the Likely Lads' are Pete and Carl's story, and 'The Saga' shows how Pete's drug addiction is spiralling out of control. He sings "i ain't got a problem - it's you with the problem!". The following track Road to Ruin is Carl's response to that, trying to make him see that "all you can be, is right here in your hands".
I highly recommend this album to anyone.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2005
Released in a blaze of publicity, but for all the wrong reasons, The Libertines self titled second album (and now, probably their last) flew off the shelves to Number 1 in its first week.
The reason? Well, the hype of a second album from a band whose first album was something close to genius; refreshing, raw, energetic, original and innovative meant expectations were ripe and ready to be fulfilled. And they almost are.
A different mood emerges from this LP; a more poignant and reflective outlook, in both the music and lyrics. What Katie Did, Road to Ruin, Last Post on the Bugle represent the new downbeat attitude The Libertines have to overcome. And, with tearing, frantic pace, songs such as The Saga and Narcissist take you by the hand whirling back into the frenzied world of The Libertines, in search of Arcadia.
Despite this, the anthems follow suit from Up the Bracket, a perfect continuation of the raw guitar parts and vocal lines. With the pounding Can't Stand me Now, bluesy Don't be Shy, deflating Ha Ha Wall; it's as if the vision of Arcadia so bright in Up the Bracket has dimmed as The Libertines have struggled. But yet, with this LP, there's still hope.
Song for song, perhaps, The Libertines isn't the album that Up the Bracket was. The music may be more melancholic at times, but still the albion sails on course - destination unknown. What became of forever? We might never know.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2004
The first single from this album seemed to sum up the fractured state of the libertines as they appeared to be falling apart at the seams but this album would be a sad end if it were their last. Returning to what must be the most brutally honest production ever, the songs remain as vibrant and alive the fiftieth time you hear them. Even the initially dull "Don't be shy", which sounds like little more than a demo of a jam takes on a new life after repeated listens. "Music when the lights go out" is one of the most evocative "end of the night" songs I've ever played as a D.J. and there are storming rock 'n' roll chunks in the likes of "Tomblands" (particularly notable for what the Libs do best i.e. blur the lines between archaic music and lyrics and a cynical view of the state of the nation). It's not quite as punchy as the first but shows the first few steps towards progression. I only hope for us all that they continue to use the blueprint of Clash/Smiths and deliver on their potential. They have finally proven worthy of being more than just the london strokes and if Pete can make it through they could produce a canon of work to rival any English band.
Buy it, if only to encourage them to keep going.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Libertines were a tempestuous band, to say the least. Divided by drugs and personal problems, they never sounded as ticked off as they do in their self-titled album -- an album about fractured, dysfunctional relationships. It's a bit sloppy around the edges, and weirdly engaging. Just hope it isn't their swan song, because there is clearly so much more they could do.

It opens with the rollicking "Can't Stand Me Now," before heading into the grittier rock turf. The Libertines sound tense and a bit taunting as they sing songs like the weird "Last Post On The Bugle" and the punky "Man Who Would Be King." They break occasionally from the "theme" of the album, like in the thrashing "Arbeit Macht Frei," but the overall sound is of strife in a friendship or relationship.

When listening to the Libertines' latest, it's hard not to hear the stories that lie under the music -- as UK tabloids delight in repeating, frontman Pete Doherty got kicked out for heroin use, meaning that the Libertines may be permanently done for. Hopefully not, because their sophomore album has the same cheeky, punkish spirit that got them fans on both sides of the Atlantic.

"The Libertines" itself seems to be an ode of love and hate to Peter Doherty -- "Can't Stand Me Now" seems like a sneer in his direction, while "Road to Ruin" is a plea for him to clean up his life. It ends on a wistful note, with the lament of "Oh what became of the Likely Lads/What became of the dreams we had?/Oh what bcame of forever?" Only "What Katie Did" really fails, with Doherty constantly singing "Shoop shoop, shoop de-lang de-lang." What? Huh?

Pete Doherty was apparently shuffled into the studio whenever he could manage to sing, and he has laddish charm that you can hear even without seeing him. He always sounds a bit drunk, too -- considering the amount of drugs this doomed man ingests, it's not surprising that he sounds a bit off.

Fortunately, his occasional vocal shortcomings are easily glossed over by the brilliant slabs of rock'n'roll that frame his singing. This is Britrock, pure and simple. Backing him up are some brilliant guitar solos, touched with organ, trumpet and even harmonica -- good stuff.

Whether the Libertines regroup or sink into rock history, their self-titled sophomore album is the sound of a potential tragedy in the making. Rough, catchy, melancholy and yet charming, this is definitely a must-buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2012
Figuratively speaking, this album takes anyone fortunate enough to clap their lug-holes upon it's masterful set of obtuse sound-snippets, upon a journey to the very edge of the mind's anus, taking several nights off to bide in the quite filthy musical motels that are the very centre-point of said jaunt towards this particular musculus sphincter.

Right from the off it becomes clear to all enjoying this rollicking great banquet of audio caviar, that what one is experiencing is a gluttonous, vociferous cacophony of rectum-influenced thoroughfare that can only really be compared to a man made entirely from empty milk cartons trying to climb up a street lamp but failing miserably due to the fact that milk carton material just does not have the sufficient grip upon it's exterior to aid a such-forth character to ascend your standard street illuminator. Despite the recurring setbacks suffered by our dairy heavy individual, he still gallantly claws, gropes, grasps and lunges for the errect stem of the urban light bringer as he is hell bent on making his way to the very bulb of it's upper casing.

A final point about this CD is that it really doesn't share many similarities to Dimmu Brrgir's black metal opus "Spiritual Black Dimensions".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2004
the libertines second album is an absolute belter dont let anyone tell u different, if u enjoyed up the bracket then youlle like this. ofcourse thats not to say that this record is anything like up the bracket but u can tell straight away this is the libertines. the sound has evolved quite a bit, there isnt as much of a punk rock sound there, but the songs are still brilliant. cant stand me now, is typical libetertines with catchy lyrics and hooks. then theres man who would be king, different to anything theyve done before but equally brilliant. the libs also include some slow burners such as mucis when the lights go out and the legendary what katie did, which are both so much better than the acoustic jangle of radio america from up the bracket. the lyrics on this album are once again exceptional and ten times better then anything else around at the moment. the album is consistently good and finishes on a hight with one of the libs best efforts yet, "what became of the likely lads". overall a brilliant second album from the libs and one which will most likely see them become the biggest band in the country.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2004
Following all the hype that surrounded this release I am sad to say that "The Libertines" is very disappointing. It is nowhere near as exciting a record as its predacessor "Up The Bracket." 2000's debut was a raw, energetic, anthem laden gem. Only a few tracks on the new album live up to it. "Can't Stand Me Now" was a worthy single, "Narcissist" should be a single and "Tomblands" is another belter. Nothing on here up to the standard of "What A Waster" or "Time For Heroes." The tone is far more downbeat than the first record which is understandable following Pete Doherty's well publicised drug problems. Despite the cleaner production it all sounds a bit rushed and songs like "The Man Who Would Be King" and "The Ha Ha Wall" sound like B-sides thrown in the last minute. There is enough here to keep the diehard fans happy but I can only hope that The Libertines sort out their differences in order to realise their true potential.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)