Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
72
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2014
This will chime with many who find themselves at odds with the mores of modern society. Marsh gives a balanced view, without being sensationalist. Whilst obviously writing about his own views, he manages to do so and also give credit, when due, to liberal philosophies. Worth reading.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
Very good attack on current political agendas. Certainly helps explain some of the bizarreness that comes from the media to us old people who probably haven't been through the current state educational wash-repeat-rinse cycles.

Particularly liked the historical background and follow through to the current age of bizarreness. Most interesting thing imo is the complete lack of counter-argument in modern day media et al. To be exact the complete lack of a need to express counter-arguments which is a very worrying thing...

Book presented reasonably concise arguments without losing its way or this reader. Expect it to be a good re-read in a few years time when nothing will have changed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
I have only gone partly through the book so far but my feelings are very much in line with Mr Marsh's. Strangely I too was born in 1947. I expressed views like his in my Kindle novel published a few years ago "2045 and After A Romantic Novel" by J.G. Hanlan. in which I describe a great deterioration of Law and Order owing to muddled political thing. Oddly enough my fictional family are named Marsh! Now there's a turn up! I am hoping to have my book published in Paperback in the not too distant future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
Excellent and relevant well researched book, with incisive understanding of modern cultural trends. Would that it was more widely read, understood and listened to in the world of today
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2017
Every intelligent person who cares about the moral direction of the UK should read this book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
All excelent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
I bought this book for the same reason as I bought Richard Dawkins's 'The God Delusion', i.e. because I expected to disagree with it but thought the challenge would be good for me. This proved to be partly true. It got me thinking about certain aspects of the 'leftie' way of thinking which have been in the back of my mind and which the book articulates: for example, the way in which liberals have their own 'orthodoxy' that tends to silence opposition, the selective treatment of atrocities (we condemn Hitler because he was right wing and pass over Stalin, Mao etc. because they were 'on the right side'), and the way working-class children are patronised and encouraged to 'express themselves' and thus denied access to the middle-class culture that keeps liberals prosperous and comfortable.
One of the things Marsh objects to is the way people are expected to take on the whole liberal package and so denied real freedom of thought: e.g. if you support gender equality, gay rights etc. you are shot down for expressing the slightest reservation about abortion. But ironically Marsh himself lumps an enormous number of different ideas together in his category of 'liberalism'. Were Stalin or Mao Tse Tung liberals?
Marsh himself says that liberalism is not all bad. It stems from the Enlightenment and has led to a lot of change for the better: the abolition of slavery, better attitudes to minorities, etc. His objection is only to the way certain liberal ideas have been uncritically accepted and pushed to extremes. This is why I think the book's title should not be 'The Liberal Delusion' but 'Some Liberal Delusions'.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2016
This book put into words everything I feel and know about modern Western society. It has helped me to understand liberal, secular humanism as a coherent philosophy based on a fallacy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
Not too long ago being liberal meant to be free from outmoded ways of thought and practice, to think well of humanity and to give generously. But today, even some liberals challenge that view. So John Marsh's timely book is a must read for anyone who wants to understand modern liberalism and its impact on society. In it he claims liberalism's philosophical foundations are collapsing and destroying the very freedoms liberals say they exist to defend. In his opinion, it is this destruction which is responsible for much of our current moral crisis.

Conceived in the Enlightenment, liberalism began as a philosophical, social and political challenge to a western Christianity compromised by privilege and worldliness. That the age of ritual deference to our social 'betters' has now past, Marsh acknowledges as a major liberal achievement. Today liberalism is the predominant ideology for the cultural elite. But when Marsh uses Enlightenment principles to test liberalism's basic assumptions, that we are born essentially 'good' and then corrupted by society, he discovers wishful thinking rather than new philosophical truth. Failing to pass the tests modern science, anthropology, sociology and history provide, liberalism collapses. And by mistaking license for freedom it unwittingly encourages poverty and inequality.

Marsh points to the scientific evidence from brain studies, genetics, neuroscience and psychology which reveal that selfishness is built-in to our human nature, not something acquired from our parents or the environment. Anthropological studies finding high murder rates among tribal people exposes the liberal idea of the 'Noble Savage' as sentimental nonsense. Meanwhile the results of sociological and historical research show how liberalism in action has deepened deprivation and led to reigns of terror.

Exercising cultural leadership liberals rename everything 'politically correctly,' and it is this which delivers their totalitarian sting. But deeper investigation reveals that 'Political Correctness' wasn't invented by western liberals at all; as Marsh rightly points out it was created by Lenin to control the inner life of everyone in Soviet Russia. And he showed no mercy to 'refuseniks;' he slaughtered them in huge numbers.

While indicating that both liberalism and communism emerged from the Enlightenment Marsh could have described in more detail how Lenin's invention entered the West. A few lines would have explained that the virus carriers were Lenin's disciples from Frankfurt University's Institute of Social Research. Set up in the 1920s as an undercover propaganda Think Tank to target western liberal intellectuals, they took the thought controlling ideology of 'political correctness' with them when they fled to America to escape Hitler in the 1930s. There, ideologues like Herbert Marcuse used 'Critical Theory' to mesmerise America's naïve elite into becoming Lenin's 'useful idiots.' Many college students on both sides of the Atlantic than became indoctrinated with 'politically correct' cultural Marxism and by the late 1960s opposition to the Vietnam War triggered open rebellion against their own institutions. And it is they, and their successors, who now encourage the West's moral and political decline.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 August 2016
As time goes by I find myself more and more at odds with these socially liberal,amoral times. Traditional moral restraints and Christianity have been cast off and society has degenerated into a selfish,hedonistic free for all. In this multicultural world there is little sense of belonging to a community with shared values anymore. There appears to be no such thing as society. All of this is due to the ruling class adopting liberalism as its creed and imposing it on the rest of us whether we like it or not. They use increasingly totalitarian methods to achieve these ends. I personally feel too intimidated to express my opinions about issues like homosexuality,abortion and Islamisation. I'm afraid of committing a hate crime and getting into trouble. This excellent,piercing critique of social liberalism and the Left hits the nail on the head from beginning to end. It is like a socially conservative bible. It explains the Enlightenment origins of liberalism and how it erroneously believes humans are essentially good in nature. I am a Christian and I believe that humans are sinful by nature therefore they should not be allowed to have excessive freedom and cast off moral restraints..The author expertly analyses the social impact of liberalism and how it has wrecked marriage,the family and created dysfunctional societies. I agreed with most of this book but I would take it further and argue that a malign supernatural force is behind the success of the social liberals whose primary aim is the destruction of Christianity. That religion has been marginalised ,stripped of its revolutionary power and turned into a sort of bland liberal humanism by the church leadership. This force is creating an interdependent Babel like world where all the races,religions,classes and sexes are thrown together. One world,One government,One religion with social liberalism its ideology. This book explains it all perfectly. Liberalism has gone too far.What the world needs is a good dose of social conservatism but now Pandora's Box has been opened this may not be possible. It is essential to resist the evil force behind liberalism even though it seems unstoppable
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)