Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
107
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2014
I have never read a gangster book before, so had no idea what to expect. I don't know what others are like but this is very well written, gripping and sometimes even funny!. Charlie is sent to the countryside during the war and all the places he discovers are called Piddle something.... I cannot make up my mind if he did the torture stuff with the terrible black box thing which had leads coming out of it. He was found guilty so I suppose he must have carried out some of the torture. I think he is pleading too much innocence, but even so the book lives up to its description. I just had to keep reading it because there was so much going on with all his scams and everything else, he plays tennis against the great train robbers for exmple. There is a lot about the infamous Krays in the book as well as Princess Margaret and London nightlife and there are plenty of sexy stories too. I think in reality he was totally ruthless, though he also appeared to be quite intelligent and it's a shame his talents were not put to better use! Read it and find out for yourself, you wont be disappointed!
33 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Really disappointed. I felt as though it had been cobbled together to get the subject and author a few bob. The story jumped all over the place - no real structure. And, in all honesty, I felt the ghost writer was a little bit amateurish. Everything seemed to be just 'touched on', no real depth to characters or individual stories. One good point was to get Charlie's side of the 'torture trial'. That case really needs looking at again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
Judging by the wording and it's general tone I think that Charlie Richardson was the major writer of this book, rather than it being ghost-written, like so many other so called, 'autobiographies' are. At times there are some well written accounts of childhood memories and other subjects, which are at times very amusing and at others quite poetic, though, however, other recollections are jumbled and confused in both their delivery and construction.

The main problem with the book though is not the writing itself, rather it is the subject matter; the book is called, ‘The Last Gangster-My Final Confession.’ Yet Richardson rarely addresses any of the crimes he was involved in apart from those of a very ‘petty’ nature and anything more serious as hearsay or lies. Rather than portraying himself as a criminal he chose to prefer an image of a slightly dodgy businessman / Harry Palmer spy figure. If you are hoping to find any revelations regarding Charlie Richardson’s history in London’s underworld you will be very disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
Absolutely worthless, full of fictional irrelevant information just to pad out the book, this is done shamelessly. I have read the original biography and that's worth a read but honestly this is garbage, absolute garbage!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
this book is not what i thought it would be. very jumpy, i suppose that to be this person you would need to be 'that person' but i didn't enjoy the cockiness of the writer. a little bit too much for me!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
fills in a few blanks although doesn't really go into detail on the run up to the trial- he does talk about it but i sense there are juicier details left out. still, its a shame what happened to the man. if you read british gangster books or memoirs then this is one you should have in the collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2015
Good biography about a South London boy who made it in spite of poor opportunity in his part of London. South London is often neglected in favour of East London and the West End, but has some of the most colourful characters. I recommend the 2015 book Alice Diamond and the Forty Elephants as an equally fascinating read.Alice Diamond and the Forty Elephants : The Female Gang That Terrorised London
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
Really enjoyed this book, there were some real insights into the 60's and many other things. Charlie had a great sense of humour and it certainly comes across in the book. The section about John Bindon was revelatory!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
One the worst books I have read for long time. Here is a man who spent 18 years in prison for a crime he is adamant he didn't comit so what is there to confess? He spends a chapter regalling us with how he made a great train robber a curry, another chapter is filled with mundane letters he sent while in prison to his daughter. The only interesting thing he is supposed to have done, he denies. If you need another book to add to your collection of mind numbingly boring books like "Paint drying: Parts 1 to 10" and "Grass: It grows slowly" then this is the one.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
did not live up to expectations. i stopped reading half way . would not recommend this book to anyone,agree with another review that richardson is full of himself.pity it could of been much better,a real disappointment.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)