Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Best of 2017 Shop now Shop now



TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 17 November 2008
What a refreshing change to the usual never ending repetitive series that often start off well, but drag on too long trying to squeeze the last penny out of the reader's pocket. Nope John Scalzi has resisted the tempation and the three book series is all the better for it. Together they make up a proper begining, middle and end, each being self contained but with of course the previous book to build on.

The Last Colony is less violent and much less of a "space opera", than the Old Man's War and in particular Chost Brigades. It is however well written and with enough action to keep most happy. There are some good plot twists and a bit of ambiguity when it comes to in book political manouvering. It makes for an intelligent but not demanding read.

The book is also short and snappy. Whilst like many I rather enjoy the Peter F Hamilton door stops it's also refreshing to read a book that will actually fit in a small bag. You could concievably put all three books into a one book tomb although each book to be fair does have it's own individual flavour.

Overall I'd recommend this to sci-fi fans who enjoyed the EE Doc Smith books in their childhood but now read the Hamilton mammoth titles and who are game for a short, thoughtful and interesting series.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2017
Rock hard sci-fi done right. Like all of the best sci-fi, and fiction in general, the setting is less important than just telling a brilliant story about believable and sympathetic characters. I wish there were a dozen more of these.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2017
This is a well written sci fi book. Its not going to stun you, but if you liked the ones that came before ... you should enjoy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2017
Great story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2017
Classic enjoyable proper sci fi reading. Theres not enough of it. I hope we end up back in this universe with more books later. Heres hoping
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2017
Loved the first two. This is more of the same. Fast paced and funny. Characters are great and a brilliant story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2017
Another one of Scalzi's books I could not put down! Great story with an unexpected twist at the end !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2016
The third story in the 'Old Man's War' series by John Scalzi continues the tale of the life of John Perry, an elderly man who left Earth to join humanity's colonial defence force and regain his youth. Now retired, he finds himself offered an opportunity he can't refuse - to start a completely new colony.

Once again it's a fantastic story filled with a rich volume of intrigue, comedy and drama - while a complex plot it's really approachable and manages to avoid the pitfalls that many science fiction stories seem to suffer, such as being unintelligible or dull. The pacing is spot on and the action flows in an episodic manner that still feels naturally continuous.

Despite the time that's passed since I read the first two books, and my memories off then being somewhat hazy, the narrative provides just the right amount of setup to get me back into the world without me feeling overly burdened by recaps and I'm sure this would provide an easy starting point for a new reader to the series.

I love the characters and the humour that Scalzi creates and reading this was another great experience. I'll definitely be looking out for the later books in the series and hope that they continue to be as great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 18 January 2011
You know what you get with John Scalzi - a competently written story that is purely plot-driven. He isn't a fancy writer, in fact I think in the whole of the book there are only a handful of purely descriptive passages. By the end you'll have a unique opinion of what the main characters look like because very little is on the page. That's not necessarily a bad thing.

Where Scalzi is strong is in his grasp of technology, which he slots into the story with an assured hand, and his dialogue which is snappy and charmingly retro.

But when the technology is pulled out of a hat at just the right moment to handle a specific situation, which is glaringly convenient in the first place, it takes the lustre off.

And the dialogue that served as a background to the first two books in the trilogy now makes up the bulk of the novel. There is an awful lot of extended discussion going on and unfortunately a lot of it sounds like the same character arguing with himself. Only the clearly alien Obin has a distinctive voice, though even that voice is just a cagier version of the "regular" speech. Even the main "alien" characters all sound like humans from the fifties. Scalzi isn't even THAT old.

Literally, several times during the novel, a group of characters will discuss some point or other, arguing themselves in circles all using similar idiom and all behaving rationally and even-tempered. Mostly.

All except Jane the female protagonist and wife to the narrator. She gets to be the savage, rage barely-contained character whose handling of the situation we'd probably rather be reading if she was given her wishes, while her old fogey (admittedly in a spanking new body) husband fumes about the indignities being heaped on him.

Couple this with some frankly baffling paragraphs of exposition and several incidents of action taking part off-stage, along with the complete abandonment of a sub-plot half-way through and you have to wonder if Scalzi was giving this work his full attention.

Did I enjoy it? It was okay. It's an easy read with some nice ideas, and I certainly don't regret seeing how the story ended. But after two books full of gene-manipulated super-soldiers battling aliens in harsh environments, I kinda would've liked to see the story capped in similar fashion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse