Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
534
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2017
I loved this booked, a brilliant fast paced rape/murder thriller with a sprinkle of mafia feel. Recommended by a friend with similar taste in booked I downloaded this for Kindle and couldn't put it down. Similar in style to other Martina Cole books I have read she has a nice writing style which is easy and pleasant to read. Buy it, you wont regret it. Unless you're squeamish, then you might.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
All in all this book has been a very good read, and I can see why Martina Cole's books are the most requested in prison libraries. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about the characters, who were very well fleshed out. I began this book with very high expectations as I am aware of the author's tremendous success, and I was a little surprised to see parts of the book where the point of view jumped around from one person to another. I felt parts of the book were quite anti-police, and definitely glamorised criminal activity. I almost stopped reading it at the point where the main character, Patrick Kelly - a known criminal, was told by the chief constable that he would have all the paperwork with details of all the known sex offenders in the area on his desk. I work in the police and am happy to say it just doesn't work like that. Such information is on specialist password protected software, which is highly monitored. This just wouldn't happen in the real world. But hey, it's just a book and perhaps it was set in a time when this could have happened, I'm just saying it's highly unlikely.
Having said that, the book kept me engaged right up until the end. I would certainly read more of Martina Cole's books and I recommend 'The Ladykiller' to anyone interested in crime thrillers. It is a graphic read, and can be quite brutal in places, but that is the nature of the beast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2016
Superficial, trite and ludicrously implausible. Cut and paste cliché after cliché into an unnecessarily long and overblown story full of gaping holes and contradictions with no regard to continuity of story or character development (excluding the excellent Grantley Ripper) and you end up with this nightmare.
Ok, the stuff about the killer is done very well: the description of the murders, his victims, his upbringing, his failing marriage, his ghastly, infuriating wife, his mother... yes, top marks, but it's lost in all the other unnecessary pith.
My real problem is with Burrows and Kelly et al. I doubt there's a police officer in London who isn't insulted by Cole's portrayal of them as stupid, obnoxious, bungling fools.
However, completely unforgivable and cringesomely laughable is Ms Cole's futile attempt to justify the crimes of the violent, bank robbing, whore-mongering hero (pg 350), all nicely rounded off when he rhetorically asks "What is the world coming to?" Are you serious?
Some signs of life but overall, for those who possess a functioning brain cell, I'd advise you to avoid this pap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
I read this when it was first published, loved it then.Having read it again it is one of the best thrillers ever. Martina Cole is excellent pulls no punches.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
I was a bit over Martina Cole books as they were getting a bit same same, but I came across this book & loved it... It was a total page turner... I literally did nothing for three days but read this! Of course there's always a cheesy Mills & Boon element to the love scenes, but minus that and the story is brilliant. Def recommend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2017
Good typical edge of the seat stuff 😎💩
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Not up to her normal standard.Wouldn't recommend it as a good read.
Couldn't believe it had ended where it did
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Good story lines
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
Excellent read kept me on my toes I love Martina Cole she's awesome. Love the love story between pat and Kate
Must read it's brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
A really good read. Quite predictable but really good all the same.. onto the next book methinks. She's really quite good is me cole. Xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here