Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 August 2011
After all the previous Kray books there is perhaps not much more to say but the authors account of his personal / business dealings with the three Kray brothers is a well written informative read. It does not paint a nice picture of Reg but backs up his views with copies of his and Reg's letters. At one point Charlie agreed to tell him 'the truth' and the book would be printed after all the Krays were dead but sadly this never took place. A great read!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
Having bought the Kray tapes I thought I would buy this too. I enjoyed the book it was funny and moving, however the author cleary did no like Reg Kray and I feel his constant criticism of Reg was a little hard to take at times. I appreciate Reg was a difficult and complex person but to really say '' He was a truly unloved individual'' this is obviously not true. This book also
contradicts the Kray tapes as the authors opinions of the Krays does differ to the Kray tapes. I think the author was obviously annoyed that Fred Dineage wrote ''Our Story'' instead of himself as its mentioned several times (Sour Grapes). So overall I would say its definitley worth a read especially if you've listened to the Kray Tapes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
I think this is an attempt to squeeze the last piece of money out of the whole Kray scene saga.I have read a lot of crime books including those written about the Kray,s .The books written about them, their early years and events as they unfolded were interesting and with a story that has a beginning and conclusion.
I think the title of this book tries to give the impression that is about the defending of their reputation and the scenarios of their lives in prison.
It's actually just the author trying to obtain snippets of information of already known events with slight variation wheedled out of them on prison visits
and a bit of small talk from Charlie.

The book I found, seemed to drag on with no real interest.I feel the whole book could have been written on a few pages,instead it has been stretched out into a complete edition.Although to be honest perhaps this review is possibly inaccurate as I stopped reading less than halfway through(something I very rarely do ) as I found it very monotonous.I did try skipping to the last chapter to see if there was any improvement,but unfortunately it appeared no different to the first part of the book.
I have since listened to the tapes and found these a little better,probably because its less effort to listen to than read.
I do not however recommend either.........
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
excellent read, couldn't put it down, superfast delivery aswell, would highly recommend this book to others, i have read quite a few kray books but still found things out that I never knew before from this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2016
Fantastic book!! Every book I've read on the krays portray Reggie as the better half...well done author..... would definitely recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
Good reading thoroughly enjoyed it - highly recommended. Welll written and very very interesting tgo read about a by gone era
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
Very pleased. Very Good Read. Full of facts of the Krays. and there lives they lead. Plus first class service. Many Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
Good book if your interested in the Kraus and learn a little of there life behind bars and the frustration of the sentence
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
Happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here