Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
28
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2017
As my niece married a Korean Veteran I decided to find out more about the Korean conflict her older husband had been involved in, as whilst on holiday with them on the Isle of Wight I was invited to attend their monthly lunch club. Speaking to these old timers was a revelation, as the conditions they often had to fight in, and with equipment and clothing that was often very poor and totally unsuitable, made me realise as to the debt those of us who perhaps didn't know much or anything about this far off war we owe to those who were there. This DVD collection helps fill in what the written word is impossible to convey about the war, and how it could have ended up becoming one where the world could have seen the use of the ultimate weapon, and that is something that doesn't bare thinking about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2011
Undestandably mainly an American view of the War.
The United States had every reason to be proud of their contribution to the action taken by the United Nations needless to say prompted by the U. S. A.
The D.v.D although repetative at times captures the feeling of intense cold experienced by the serving soldiers. also for those in U.K. who had no knowledge of General MacArthurs success and then demise it could make interesting viewing for todays Leaders!
For British veterans ,particularly those of 29 Brigade, I would recommend reading"To the Last Round" to be aware more fully of the British contribution.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2015
Excellent programme which gives a lot more information than 'The Korean War: Our Time in Hell', particularly regarding the political machinations. The British contribution was mentioned briefly, in some detail, but only in passing. This is an American production of course but no punches are pulled in describing the flawed American approach to the Korean War, including the downfall of the 'All American' hero, General Douglas MacArthur. All in all a superb series which describes many of the campaigns in detail, from the American point of view, complete with the privations that the American soldiers suffered. The only criticism I have is that the sound quality was a little poor at times. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
this was a very informative and well made film full of action and well put together a good look at the korean conflict but you would be forgiven for thinking the British were never there the film covers the whole of the war and paints A picture of general mc arthurs arrogance and commitment to continue the war resulting in his being sacked
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
I served in the korean war in the royal navy. unfortunately little or nothing was written about the UN navies activities during the war, In fact little was said about the British contribution. True the americans were the major contributors but remember the royal navy was in action, being first in the area, at the start of the war and suffered damage to the ship and injuries to personel (soldiers on boad at the time). However it is a well made documentary of the conflict so well done and it is an enjoyable DVD.
William Evans. 01/09/2013
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
I know that we Brits were in Korea but if you have purchased this, you could be excused for thinking it was only the "yanks" out there. It is a bit one sided to say the least.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2016
This book is fascinating account account of the Korean War. It is well worth reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
The Korean War - this is really fire and ice. Very good presentation of conflicts, very informative and interesting. This war is not well known in modern history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
Brought for my dad who enjoyed it so was a success arrived well packaged and on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)