Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
137
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2017
Really enjoyed it. However, it needed to be drawn out a bit in places as characterisation fell somewhat flat when too little description was given to emotions in circumstances that called for way more. Another 30-50 pages would have given the story the robustness it needed without detracting from the drama.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2017
Having read a few books similar to this, and having a strong passion for American history, especially the brutal times of slavery, not since The Colour Purple has a novel left me as touched as this book. Through tears, laughter and heartbreak following their stories has been a hard task, at times a moment will leave you wanting to throw the book across the room in anger and others will have you clinging to it in hope. This is the type of story that will stay with you and though times are still tough for some, thankful that we do not live in a world where slavery is allowed and women are impotent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
From the first page I was totally captivated by this book. I loved the characters and the way each chapter was written by either Belle or Lavinia, I can't wait to read the next one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
I loved this story. Harsh in places. It is very well written and has a complex yet moving story to it. I fell in love with the characters and believed them to be real which gave me an overwhelming sense of empathy for them. Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
Really enjoyed this book,very well written,good
Story,shows both sides,good strong characters,
And you felt as if you were there,
Will look out for this author again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
I couldn't put this book down, what a story, really well written and well researched. This would make a brilliant film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Read both books in this series and was enthralled by them, very true to life and I felt like I had been transported back to this amazing era! Well thought out and believable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Like many others
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
One of those books that one could read a second time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
What an amazing book for a first time author. Kathleen had you gripped from the first few pages. Loved it. Even more pleased to find there sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here