Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
1,046
4.6 out of 5 stars
The King's Speech [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 August 2017
Such a wonderful movie. It's a shame that some people find the need to leave poor ratings due to bad quality blu-ray, or because something isn't historically correct. I thought the acting from both Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush was excellent. Well worth watching.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
After The King's Speech won the Best Picture Oscar for 2010, I knew I wanted to catch it at some point but kept putting it off. 2010 was not a great year for films, and I was unsure whether to see it or not, and recently I decided to give it a shot.

While I didn't think it was a great as people say it is, it is a really good movie. Colin Firth really deserved the Oscar for Best Actor for his role as King George VI who is struggling with a speech impediment and through his wife hires speech therapist Geoffrey Rush to help him out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2012
This is the true story about the late King George VI's, played by Colin Firth, speech impediment and his shyness, how he was taught to overcome it to a great extent by an eccentric speech therapist played by Geoffrey Rush.

His wife played by Helen Bonham Carter seeks out the help of of this eccentric speech therapist as his brother King Edward VIII abdicates from the throne due his love for a catholic American divorcee and the film concentrates on this relationship between Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush.

It is wonderfully filmed and the acting is outstanding from all participants, with of course Colin Firth taking the Oscar for his performance as King George VI.

For my money the eccentric speech therapist played by Geoffrey Rush takes the outstanding plaudits, his performance for me was brilliant without taking anything away from Colin Firth's excellent portrayal as King Georg VI.

It is an outstanding film worthy of a place in your film collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2017
this is one of those films where is is extremely hard for the scriptwriter and director to produce an amazing film - after all, it is about someone curing their stammer. however, this was amazing - there were no faults I can pick out - although I felt Bertie/George's brother's acting was not up to scratch in contrast to the others. overall, an amazing film.
side note: most of the negative comments are about blueray, or it being an amazing film but not deserving of the awards it has recieved. so realy it is 4 and 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
Bargain blu ray. I bought this for my dad as a birthday present. He loves films and this did not disappoint. Can't knock it for the price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Amazing movie . Beautifully inspiring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
Great film and excellent value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
A wonderful wonderful film!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
Brilliant - nothing less.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2017
A nice piece of history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)