Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 October 2015
Interesting concept and characters with depth and dimension. I enjoyed the books and finished them which with free books I never bother to do if they are poorly written or boring. Could have done with more on the ball proof reading - missing punctuation made parts confusing and difficult to know who was saying what; and closer inspection might have caught some clunky prose, e.g. 'long flowing locks of raven black locks', that just made me go uuuggghhh. Would read this author again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
I very much enjoyed reading The Judas Chronicles. It is well written and flows well, keeping the reader engaged and committed to finding out more at the various cliffhanger points. These pivotal points in the plot line are picked back up again in the later parts of the three-part tale, as this version on Kindle is actually a series of three individual books presented in one volume.

The concept itself is interesting; Judas Iscariot doomed to an immortal life of wandering the earth until he can recover the thirty coins he was paid for betraying Christ and so, stand a chance of bargaining his way into heaven.
While this is obviously the ongoing and overriding theme of the book, it does not have an overtly Christian or dogmatic flavour to it, and is best described as a supernatural fantasy/adventure tale with a strong human interest plot line and its feet very firmly planted in the real world.
It is credible, engaging and eminently readable.

Taken as a whole it is fairly large book, which is all to the good in my opinion. But as the story is divided into three different tomes brought together in this trilogy, there are natural breaks and pauses in narrative at the end of each individual book that mean it would not be overly heavy reading for those who like shorter books and wish to return to the theme later on!

I will definitely read more works by this author, and have no qualms about recommending this book.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
A really interesting book. I'm not usually into si-fi but this was very minor. Glad I got the three books in one.
It was recommended to me and I can recommend it to you. I like to think of Judas wandering the earth trying to find the thirty pieces of silver. The devil is also an interesting character. enjoy a good read
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
I managed to get this book free recommended by a friend, I found myself feeling sorry for one of the most hated men in the Bible Judas.
this is the story of his quest to find his 30 pieces of silver and redeem himself to God and finally end his life. Looking forward to the next one
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
I've been dithering on 3 or 4 stars but eventually gave it the benefit of the doubt due to its pluses outweighing its minuses. On the plus side these are entertaining stories, well researched (generally though I realise not all authors can physically travel to all locations and so have to rely on online sources) and the pace of them is good. Minuses are Ali - can anyone but a father really love such an irritating windbag? and the evil Russian who is past his sell-by date by the third story. I know it's easier to have a character reused but really, put the effort into cycling new ones instead of using the same one all the time!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
I think it is a great idea to bring the first three books together. It works to get the reader immersed in the saga. In a way, it is a pity the series didn't start with the recovery of the first coin, because it would provide an interesting perspective on how much judas has had to work and suffer to redeem himself. Full of action, readers will come to empathise with our hero. A great concept for this series. Congratulations to Aiden James on coming up with it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
I was a bit doubtful that the idea of one of the Apostles still walking the Earth some two thousand years after the death of the Christ would hold any interest, especially as the Apostle in question was indeed Judas Iscariot! Safe to say it was a rivetting read, one I couldn't put down (there's a few late nights to blame for these three books)

I am certain to purchase the next episode in line just to find out what happens to William, his wife Bea, his son Ali and his son's girlfriend Amy.

Go on, treat yourself to something different, a well written story where the original bad guy isn't all that bad and redemption is just a few coins away...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
I'm not really a fantasy fan, but loved these three books (in one volume). Plenty of action, well written and keeps going right up to the last page. Almost plausible!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
Once you settle into the fact that the main character talks directly to you the reader, you are then griped by the story. Story moves at quite a pace but is an easy story to follow. Really enjoyed these stories.,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
Enjoyed this twist on an old tale.
Intend reading subsequent books.
Considering it's free it really is very good.
Try it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse