Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 20 December 2014
A quick and easy read full of interesting facts and quirky stories. While it doesn't make you want to put your shoes on and go for a run it does make you feel more knowledgeable about the whole sport. I would recommend to all enthusiasts unless you are already a know it all clever clogs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
A great read for runners and aspiring runners alike. The book is packed with information starting with a history of running,why we run and training through to stats. I particularly enjoyed the Grand Slam -the. Six Nations current fastest marathon times. An interesting, witty and an informative running book to read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
Packed with interesting facts and practical tips this book sells running. OK, most people who buy it will be runners, but for people new to running who may feel self-conscious about their style or ability, this book draws you in to the world of running. This world (as I have found) provides inspiration, support, improved health and a great deal of enjoyment. When you start running and get hooked you will want to know about it's history, you will want to know how to get faster and you may want to know more about the half, the full and what lies beyond. This book reflects the author's love for running and where it has taken him, although it is not his story. Instead, Paul Owen shares a great deal of his own discovery and has written a book for you to dip into as you wish. In short then, whatever stage you are at with your running, or if you haven't yet taken those first steps, you will find this book a superb companion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
The Joy of Running: For Those Who Love to Run is an absolute treat. It offers a wealth of running fact and folklore, but the big attraction is that it's all delivered in a flowing, fluent and fun way. Paul Owen seems to have at his fingertips everything that's ever happened in the world of running, which could have led to information overload. But Owen marshals it all beautifully to offer a book I know I will return to time and time again. It answers all the questions you could ever want to ask about running - and throws in the answers to all the questions you would never have dreamt of asking. I love the fact that there is a record for running a marathon in a suit, and I didn't know - until reading this - that I shared the 2003 New York City Marathon course with Puff Daddy, who was presumably Puffed-Out Daddy by the end of it. But maybe best of all is Paul's anecdote on page 17 about the dangers of letting too big a gap develop between first and second. Priceless. I haven't laughed so much since I ran into a lamp post during the 2012 Portsmouth Coastline Marathon and broke my nose! Paul is a serious runner with an impressive list of achievements at various distances, but his literary PB is something we can all enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
found it very easy reading and foiund a few handy tips as only started running in january have passed it onto a fellow running friend to enjoy
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
Great read with lots of handy tips and facts, with some really interesting and funny parts. I recommend it to all runners!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Great read very funny and kept me griped the whole way though.
Great book for those runners and anyone wanting to start running . A little insight x
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
Not a training guide but better than that: a book that really inspires you to want to put your shoes on and get out there and run hard and far.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Full of random facts and stories of all things running related. Great for beginners who want to learn the lingo and a brief history of running. Entertaining for those who have been there, done it and continue to do it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
I was,expecting a lot more hints and tips having read a review and downloading a sample from the amazon bookstore. Lots of tables and history about running and runners not enough about how to enjoy it or train
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)