Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 16 July 2017
Highly recommend for any Jaws fan,always interesting and witty,great insight into movie making on location.Only quibble would be no mention of the relationship between Dreyfuss and shaw who,movie legend has it that they never got on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
Read this book twenty five years ago and managed to lose it at some point.
Just bought it again and its like reading it again for the first time.
If you love the film then you will really enjoy reading this. Much more insight than the behind the scenes documentary which comes on the blu ray disc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
This is a great look into the production of a major feature film - and of course one that has established itself as a landmark in Hollywood cinema. I have a couple of quibbles - or at least warnings. Firstly, since this book was written a lot of the information is contained in the many extras on the many dvd reissues of the film, BUT this is the telling of the story by someone who was there, and the stories are unmediated by the studio, producers etc; so you get the stories from 'the horse's mouth'. Secondly, the book has been expanded over the years so the footnotes (which are moire appendices) are almost as long as the book itself - so be warned, you'll need to read it flipping back and forth from text to the back of the book. Given both those caveats I'd still say this is a great read, and it is the story of the making of the film from someone who was there and right at the heart of the production process.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2012
JAWS LOG was originally published way back in 1975 and is considered to be the definitive "making of" journal. Upon initial release it was a huge hit and sold millions of copies. Now in 2012, we get an updated version of this amazing film diary, with new notes by author Carl Gottlieb. The book also provides updated information on various members of the cast & crew and other works they moved on to.
I have never come across a better "on the set" diary, and this makes fascinating reading for any true fan of cinema.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2017
I can't believe the reviews for this book on the site, it is so boring. Gottlieb is a screenwriter and boy does it show, the prose in this book is dreadfully bad, writes like English is not his first, second or even third language. I add on an extra star because there is the odd interesting tidbit, like Sterling Hayden being first choice for Quint, never knew that. To be fair to Gottlieb, the section that covers when they're at sea, filming the last forty minutes or so of the movie, is ok, you do get some insight into how hellishly difficult it was to work on the ocean, but it's nowhere near enough to justify buying this book. Ignore all the other reviews of this book on Amazon; they're wrong, and I'm right! This is a poor book and not worth your precious time or money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2016
This might seem like a pointless book, but it tells you not only how the book got to the screen and about the actors that were in it, but it also tells you about other things the cast, production team di and what happened on location and in the studio.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
Back in 1975 I had a fair bit of "Jaw" merchandise. The novel, a Jaws pendant, several sizes of rubber shark, a glossy brochure type magazine tie-in. And a copy of "The Jaws Log".

At that age (9) I just glanced at it at first, looked at the pictures, read a bit of the text and put the book away. It didn't seem like my sort of thing.

Years later I picked it up, began reading and became hooked by an excellent account of how movies are really made. The deals, the compromises, the inspiration borne of desperation. It's a great yarn.

If you like the film "Jaws" you should definitely read this book. If you're a fan of "Making of..." type books, this is one of the most interesting that I've read. And thankfully the Kindle version is more than just a straight conversion.

As nearly 40 years have passed since the original publication, a great deal more information is available to the author. Not just what happened to everyone in the years that followed the shoot but matters that were just speculation in 1975 (like the final budget) can now be settled. These additions appear in the form of end-notes (properly linked ones) so you can move back and forth between them and the main text.

The picture section has been enlarged as well and the images are now collected together rather than being scattered through the text. The double page picture of a nude Susan Backlinie running into the sea from the original book seems to be missing though. Shame that.

I'm pleased to be able to add this to my Kindle collection and pleased too that a good job was made of the Kindle version.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
This is a great book, full of information on how the film was made - something of a miracle all things considered! It's well written, making it interesting throughout and full of personal evidence of participating in a major film shoot. Great insight for film lovers/studiers into just what goes into getting a film made, approved and released. You will watch the film in a different way once you have read the book! Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
I'm a massive fan of the film and this book is the best "making of" i've read.Highly recomended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)