Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
154
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: HD DVD|Change
Price:£9.97+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2014
Nothing like the original. It lacks a lot. Michael Cain is much better in the original. This one doesn't match up at all. The music is totally different and doesn't come at the right time. I don't like Charlene Theron being in it. There wasn't a female in the first one, so I don't know why they have changed that. Mark Whalberg as Croker is ridiculous.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This film is a rubbish yanks version of the original British iconic film, for me this film was a disgrace and should never have been made, why do they have to make it so over the top? it's as if they have to do this to make the American public watch, the only positive thing I can say is, I downloaded this from sky, and had great pleasure in deleting it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 November 2004
Lacking the style and heart that made the original such a firm favorite among film fans and also without the talents of Noel Coward - who gave such a nicely humorous touch to the classic - was this weak 2003 remake.
In truth this movie is more of a sequel than a remake. As most film fans will know the original movie concluded with the gang of bullion thieves stuck in a rather precarious situation atop one of the Italian Alps. The remake however includes the actual "Italian Job" of the title at the beginning of its movie and then weaves a tale of betrayal and payback that has one of the thieves double-crossing his partners and taking off with the gold himself.
In this respect the movie probably would have been better off not adopting the name of its illustrious predecessor. In fact, in talks with the director to promote this movie, it was revealed that Italian authorities were less than happy to hear that Hollywood planned to remake a movie - that is such a "national treasure" in the hearts of Italy - that they almost refused the team to film in Venice. Only when they were able to convince the Italians that it was a homage and that they intended no disrespect to the original that they were allowed to continue.
Fans of another remake (Ocean's Eleven) will no doubt lap this movie up. This production has another hip cast and the same slick method of storytelling. It was pleasing to see the return of the Morris Minor car as one of the holdovers from the original movie and I thought Charlize Theron was a welcome addition to the cast as the beautiful daughter of one of the original thieves. What was most disturbing though was the fact that the original Italian Job was an eclectic collection of British thieves, whereas here they are American - not sure why they made that change since the humor employed in the original was so British.
Still, as heist movies go this film is a success and a lot of fun. If you enjoyed Clooneys version of OCEAN'S ELEVEN, then chances are you will enjoy this too.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
So, a job set in Italy? Hence The Italian Job? No. Utterly charmless, set in the USA, no humour etc etc. everyone remembers "You were only supposed to blow the bloody doors off". Cannot remember anything from this rubbish. Only called The Italian Job to trick us into going to see it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
I love the film. But, this item was returned to Amazon as the Bluray is actually nothing more than the DVD upscaled into 1080p.
The image is grainy as hell, poorly transferred and the only good thing is the audio.

So, if you want a bluray copy - wait for a rerelease. DO NOT BUY for clear picture! But the cheap DVD!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 August 2004
This film is supposedly a remake of the Michael Caine film of the same name. It is not, it uses the title of the original, some of the big set pieces, the gold heist, the armoured car, the getaway and let us not forget the Mini Coopers.
It does not however have the charm of the original, Mark Wahlberg does not have the same cheeky chappy persona that Michael Caine gave his Charlie Croker, but he gives a good performance nonetheless, as do all the other actors. Donald Sutherland steals every scene he is in, which is not many unfortunately.
This is an entertaining, glossy, well scripted, well acted romp. I do not think that it is really a remake though, the entire ethos of this film is different from the original. The original was a celebration of all things English (English not British, there is a difference)Noel Coward after all was the quintessential Englishman.
Even the ending is different, in the original the thieves lost the gold and were left hanging over a precipice, and all the gold was scattered down a mountain, never did crime pay less. In this new and revised version they do, eventually, get away with it, should crime pay just because we like the criminals?
That all said, this is worth watching, there is very little violence and no bad language, which makes a refreshing change, watch and enjoy, just do not expect a modern updating of the original, you will not find it here.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
Not much more to say really. Lacks all the charm of the original and near unwatchable for me! I wouldn't recommend at all.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Great film but an old one now so majority of people would have seen this one already. Good actors. Loads of action, funny at parts, good story. Better than the original in my opinion. My fav actors so met my expectations. Thoroughly enjoyable. Can watch this film many times and I have done. More extras would have been nice though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
Having seen the first famous version I was wondering what this would be like. However it would really be wrong to compare them as the storyline is different although they are some references made to the first film (gold and mini coopers!) It has a great leading cast and Mark Wharlberg gives a nice slightly understated performance alongside Charlize Theron. It starts off in Venice so straightaway I loved it! Later it moves to USA where more clever planning takes place. Lots of action with great car chases and amazing driving techniques. The minis still look cool.

I would recommend this film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
I loved this film not just becasue Ed Norton was in it ! It isn't much like the original Italian Job and really shouldn't have the title, but it does start in Italy and of course there are mini's in it and same character names. It is done really well and I found it exciting to watch especially the car and boat chases.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)