Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2017
I was disappointed because it was so short - gobbled up within 30 mins and then left feeling a bit cheated. I guess I was hoping for another novel length book in the style of GoT! My fault, I should have noted the number of pages before I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
Nothing like ASOIAF but a very touching story about a very special young girl. I would recommend this to anyone from around 13 years old.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2017
A good book of GRRMs, a light read and interesting throughout from the first page to the last.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2017
Great book nice pictures in the story it was a pity it was so short loved to had read more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2017
Great wee read if your into your dragons. Without meaning too it explained the almost psychic link between a dragon and its chosen rider.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2017
Just a tease, its like someone letting you in for a heat next to the fire and as soon as you're a nice comfortable heat they chuck you back out on cold with no explanation . Would feel robbed if paid for actual book but I got it for kindle for £3.99 and even then ad still take a refund if could get it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
Short story of the ice dragon. Need your own imagination to think for the reason. Anyhow I enjoyed reading the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Great short story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2015
A very short ( compared to the usual fire and ice series) book. It was very pleasant of a girl and her new ice dragon friend, but what I loved the most was the art. The cover and the chapter illustrations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
Synopsis:

Set long before the events of A Song of Ice and Fire, The Ice Dragon follows the story of Adara, a young girl who is different to everyone else in her family. Born in the middle of winter, Adara is a winter child that does not fear the dragons that fly over her farm. Then one day Adara finds an ice dragon, and each winter they take to the skies. But Westeros is at war, and it is only a matter of time before fire breathing dragons appear in her village, bent on destroying everything in their path.

Review:

Having been a fan of George R. R. Martin’s work for a number of years, I went into reading this with some very high expectations, and it did not disappoint. The Ice Dragon is a beautiful children’s story that is thoughtful, provoking and wonderfully written,

The plot is a fairly simple one, but it’s fantastically executed and filled with lots of subtle elements from the series that so many adore. Adara is great, she’s fearless, staying out longer than any of the other children during the winter months, playing with lizards and approaching the ice dragon all alone. She stands out, sets herself apart from the other children and her brothers and sisters, and while she seems misunderstood by her family, she really is a fantastic character that you instantly empathize with.

This has probably been said in many reviews of The Ice Dragon, but the illustrations are astounding, I found myself getting distracted from the story many times in order to inspect them. They make the whole book feel cold and icy, it really adds to the whole atmosphere of the book.

It’s a sweet enjoyable story about a little girl that sacrifices her desires in order to save her family. It’s intelligent, thought provoking and lavishly illustrated. It may not be entirely for children, - there are some gory head-splitting scenes - but all in all a wonderful little book. I for one hope Martin delves into children’s writing again, if The Ice Dragon is anything to go by, it’s sure to be a wonderful book!
33 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse