Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
111
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2016
This is the Blu-ray début of the 1983 production of the late Tony Scott’s first feature film as a director from the Whitley Strieber novel of the same name starring the late David Bowie as John Blaylock and Catherine Deneuve as Miriam Blaylock and the love triangle is completed by Susan Sarandon as the gerontologist Sarah Roberts, this now cult classic from the 80’s in this 2015 Blu-ray release looks amazing as the print damage that was evident in the 2004 DVD release of this title is no longer an issue the blacks are more defined and the colours are brighter the Blu-ray is on a 50GB region free disc and has been encoded using MPEG4-AVC the audio track is now DTS-HD Master audio stereo whereas the DVD was in the original cinema Dolby Digital mono form

Comparing the 2004 DVD release against this 2015 issue there are some immediate noticeable differences where the DVD has three audio tracks English, French and Italian and the DVD also includes subtitles English for the hard of hearing, French, Italian, Dutch and Arabic the special features feature the original trailer a stills gallery and audio commentary from Tony Scott and Susan Sarandon, the Blu-ray release only features the trailer and audio commentary from Tony and Susan.

If you can find this at a reasonable price on import it is a worthy up-grade from the earlier DVD release.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
THE HUNGER 1983 DVD 2004

Back in the 1980s I replaced most of my collection of 8mm movies with VHS and I have been going through a same process of upgrading to DVD for the last two or three years. This has given me the excuse to watch many films that I have not seen for some time and this stylish vampire movie from the great Tony Scott is one that I have recently revisited.

The film stars the fabulous Catherine Deneuve and David Bowie in a role that I believe to be one of his best performances as an actor, as vampires living in modern day (1983) New York, in a luxurious state of bored longevity, but even vampires do not live forever and the story plots the anguish as one of the partners begins to age and the other needs to find a new companion. The plot is unhurried but has sufficient momentum to keep the viewer interested and there are surprises and twists enough to please.

This is one of my favourites of the modern vampire genre and is probably the film which most influenced the development of the vampire cult movies and television series of the 1990s.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
Avery odd but some how mesmerising film. David Bowie is superfluous in this film as Catherine Deneuve & Susan Sarandon are the real stars. Avery interesting twist on the old vampire films. Well done!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
What a really good film - Bowie was so sensual - charismatic - just pure him
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
classic 80's cinema, super stylish and worth a watch
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
I enjoyed this movie it's a good story all the actors are at there best. Darkly atmospheric theme. I got it mainly because David Bowie was in it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
This is a BD gift which will go down well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Great film.watched it years back & its still as good!
David bowie very good at his part, & Catherine deneauve is stunning!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2017
Possibly a modern classic due to its cast - but a bit too weird for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
Excellent film
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)