Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
44
4.9 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2017
I got this for use in my Forensic Anthropology Masters degree and it's a great tool to have. A must have for related courses and any related job. Has details for siding bones and even trying to identify fragmented bones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
This is a must have book for any aspiring human osteoarchaeologist / bioarchaeologist! The diagrams are beautifully detailed and the descriptions are very helpful when identifying fragmentary pieces of bone and siding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
Great book for beginners in osteology!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2006
I would highly recommend this book to any student of human anatomy, and to any archaeologist who may come into contact with human remains. As with the authors' earlier text "Human Osteology", this book has excellent photographs and descriptions of human bones, but has the added benefit of being small and light enough to carry about, and is cheap enough to take on site without fear. The photographs are now labelled with the names of the bones, rather than an alphabetical key, which makes this a better quick-reference text. Other sections have been expanded and updated, and the front and back covers include very handy fold out photo targets. I gave this book 4 out of 5 because in a few cases (ie the foot) the photos are displayed across two pages and so parts of the pictures are obscured. Overall, though it's great; don't buy Bass, buy this book instead.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2009
I've gone through a few bone books and this one ticks most of the boxes but one.

Pros:
It has very good photographs of the bones, a lot of them in actual sizes and the rest if very good sizes. Clear photos and labelled. Very handy when you don't have a skeleton to practice on.

I like the size of this book cause you can just carry it around with you.

Not loaded with technical jargon. Well written, concise and to the point.

Cons:
The only issue I got with this book is that it doesn't include all the information relating to doing a bioprofiling of a skeletong (aging, sexing etc.). You will certainly need a different book for that.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2009
This book is an excellent reference for students trying to learn about identification of individual and fragmentary bones. The pictures are great and the information is very straightforward (for the most part). Sometimes the information on bone siding is a little hazy. But all in all a good starter text and a good 'to-hand' text when in the field because it is small and light. Great text! :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
Whether you are an expereinced osteologist or just a beginner, this book should go everywhere with you! Descriptions and illustrations are clear and help to identify everything but bone dust. Especially great when working with disarticulated remains.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2012
This book is a must have for anyone who is interested or studying Osteoarchaeology or a similar subject. There is everything you need right here for your study or interest. It covers from the history of the topic, the gross structure of bone, the identification and siding of each bone in the body with clear diagrams, photos and labeling. It also has has details on sexing, stature estimation, age of death and osteo and dental pathology.

There are more books that go into more detail but this is a fantastic study guide that is easy to read over a beer or a cup of coffee and helped me greatly in my own studies :)

So for a final note BUY!.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
I purchased this book as it was on the compulsory reading list for my Human Osteology module, as part of my Archaeology degree. This book is highly recommended by lectures as it is a key text that provides everything you need to know for the module. The book contains detailed photographs, which are well labelled enabling me to use them as a reference when I do not have skeletal remains in front of me. Terminology is easy to understand as everything is well explained by Tim White, Would definitely recommend any students studying human osteology to purchase this as it is essential. I also suggest that a good purchase would be the archaeology of human bones by Simon Mays!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)