Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
25
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2015
Great book - lots of detail, but well written and well illustrated. Only down side - wife now has shed loads of new ideas (read: Jobs) for me now! Thanks Mr. Clarke!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
I wish we had this book when we first moved into our home. It shows what thinking outside the box can achieve and how to look at the spaces in your house differently. Not much on construction detail but there are other books that do that. Knockd a star off cos I would have liked to see more floor plans.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2010
Great for people needing or wanting to make additional space when starting afresh but also for making alterations, when less space available.
More information would be ideal for those of us who do not have space for extending.eg. living rooms and kitchens.
A good book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2010
This is a very easy to read, well written book with loads of useful information on how to improve your home. Mr Clarke gives us an insight into his own, private dwelling with beautiful photos and drawings. A very enjoyable and informative read.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
It was gratifying to see many layouts that George had illustrated in his book, that we had proposed ourselves in many potential houses we may have bought. A lot we knew already, so the very good illustrations backed this up. For a newbie to the business of house renovation or informed knowledge of what to look for in buying a house that would give a purchaser the potential of a future remodelling has to said is superb.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
I watched George Clarke on tv and loved the way he can turn a house from nothing into something amazing, so when i saw the book it was a must have. The book is a step by step guide to house design. Its broken down into chapters explaining the design process from start to finish and the bits in between. He gives design advice on the various rooms found in homes today, and ideas on what he believes each room should have. He places huge importance on natural light in the home and informs the reader ways to achieve this. You get a first hand look at George's own home with before and after views and reasons explained why various changes were made. A great book, useful, informative, and a very good guide on what to expect when you take a journey into the building game.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2010
An excellent book which is a good read even if you are not planning any renovations. Many books of this type are reference books only but he writes it in the style of following the journey of his house renovation from the beginning to where he is now (still working on his basement at the time of publication). Written in his relaxed likeable style I ordered another to send as a present.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
Bought as a present for mum. She has a crush shall we say on poor George. Book looks pretty cool and has some sound tips and advice. Worth a butchers now and then for inspiration. He's an intelligent guy and the book reflects his shows in the way its been put together and worded. I liked it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2010
I'd pre-ordered the book, I'm a huge fan of his show... It was definitely worth the wait. It's packed with ideas, and things to consider when planning/doing a renovation, including potential pitfalls.

It's well written and easy to read. Well done!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Really useful book with practical advice, plans and photos.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)