Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
26
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 August 2005
I have just realized there was something wrong in the review I posted last week. The stories contained in "The Bloodstained Pavement" are NOT the same stories contained in "The Blue Geranium". Actually, the first audiobook contains the first seven stories of the book "The Thirteen Problems" ("The Tuesday Night Club", "Ingots of Gold", "The Blood-Stained Pavement", "The Idol House of Astarte", "Motive Versus Opportunity", "The Thumb Mark of Saint Peter" and "Death by Drowning"). The second audiobook contains the other six stories.
You can actually by an audiobook by Mistery Master Series from amazon.com that includes both parts and is much cheaper (shipping and handling included), by the name of "The Tuesday Club Murders", also read by Joan Hickson.
0Comment| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2005
This audiobook is highly enjoyable by any lover of mystery in audiobook format and Joan Hickson is the great reader of Miss Marple. Ms Christie had a fine sense of humour at its darkest spoken through the lips of nice old ladies.
In case you are new to Miss Marple's audiobooks, the stories contained in "The Bloodstained Pavement" belong to "The Tuesday Club Murders", a.k.a "The Thirteen Problems" (I guess these are the titles belonging to the American and British editions of the same book)and are, apparently, the same stories contained in "The Blue Geranium". I do wish Amazon would bother to detail which stories are included in each audiobook, actual length and so on, it does get a bit confusing.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2012
I adore Joan Hickson as Miss Marple. I disagree with the reviewers who are unhappy upon hearing "Miss Marple's voice"...For me, her voice...FITS, if you see what I mean...And, of course, the stories, themselves, are wonderful. My only complaint-and it is so with "Part 2" of this series "The Blue Geranium" CD's-is that the second CD ends in mid-sentence. Now, true, no GREAT amount of the story is lost...We do find out "Who Dunnit" etc...but, it is annoying to be cut off like that! I must say that I am unimpressed with Harper-Collins rendition of these wonderful stories! Also, there are supposed to be 13 stories in this series (The Bloodstained Pavement and The Blue Geranium) and these two CD sets "lose" many of them! Please, please, PLEASE! WHY can't the full "The Tuesday night Club" series of CD's (which has all of the stories, and does not "cut off") not be sold by amazon?! The sellers who do sell it want HUGE amounts of money! I am frustrated.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2011
THE PERSON THAT I BOUGHT THIS TALKING CD FOR IS VERY HAPPY WITH IT AMAZON WAS THE ONLY PLACE THAT I COULD FIND IT THIS IS AFTER I HAD NO LUCK IN FINDING IT ANY WHERE ESLE, ORDERING THIS ITEM THROUGH AMAZON WAS THE FIRST TIOME THAT I HAVE DONE THIS I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THE SERVICE FROM AMAZON AND WILL BE USEING THEM AGAIN I FOUND THAT THERE SERVICE IS VERY GOOD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
There are many Agatha Christie audios and they are reasonably priced, for anyone who listens while they work a collection can soon be aquired. Pleasant stories and many twists and turns,
I like the Marple and Poirot stories and have seen many on the tv, so can relate to them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
joan hickson is miss marple.cool calm and easy to listen too.a typical old maid nosey and knitting I can picture this as I listen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
Lovely adaptation with Joan Hickson, makes you feel it is read by Agatha Christie herself. Great short stories, and well read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
I gave this as a present and it has been enthusiastically received by its recipient who is delighted with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
The Hollow , still ploughing through this one it does take a while with me with Agatha Christie books. It isn't to say its not good they are just written in a lifetime we don't get to see. for someone with low education that can write this way does call for celebration, as I wonder what we need education for. she must have been around a circle of people to get the info.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2015
The hollow is one of my favourite Agatha Christie books keeps u guessing.til.last page.Hercule at his very best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse