Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2014
Everybody knows the story, so I really won't bother explaining. Instead, I'll focus on this particular edition.

This is actually the 75th anniversary edition, not the 70th anniversary ed of the Hobbit as it is advertised on amazon.co.uk.

Cover-to-cover description follows.
+ book jacket reproduces Tolkien's own design for the first edition (the sun and the dragon are red as originally intended), the colors on the jacket are not so saturated. It really gives the feel of color pencil drawing. Very nice, I love it.

+ Thror's map on the inner side of the cover: background of the map is yellowish (looks like parchment); runes on the left, rune marking the entrance and Smaug's drawing are in red. Love it.

+ preface by Christopher Tolkien excerpted from the 50th anniversary edition

+ table of contents, list of illustrations, notes on the text

+ author's original illustrations included, the colored ones are on harder type of paper

+ when you read a chapter, left page has "The Hobbit" in the header and <chapter_name> in the header of the right page, the fontsize is normal, not too small

+ first chapter of The Lord of the Rings is included in smaller font, doesn't really take up that much space at all (11 pages)

+ map of Wilderland: background color imitates parchment, important names in dark blue

Overall I am very pleased with this edition.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2016
I first read The Hobbit at the age of twelve in the summer of 1987.i was absolutely thrilled with it and read a chapter every day and it was for me the greatest best book i had ever read. I have recently reread it after 29 yrs and hoped to relive that magic again. Unfortunately this was not the case. I could not believe how babyish and tedious the narration was!how utterly boring the story read after all this time! I couldnt believe how rubbish the story was and how childish the narration was! What a spoiled brat Bilbo was and how utterly unbelievable the plot was! As if Gandalf would just appear at the nick of time with the trolls!as if the eagles just appeared at the right time and the escape in the barrels was beyond far fetched. As if the dwarves could survive in barrels! How would they breathe properly? And it was so depressing all the war and fighting. I really loathed this story and it was nothing at all like the brilliant book that i loved so much 29 yrs ago. If theres something ive learned its that some things that you love in your childhood are not things that you find as magical when you are an adult. I know that everybody says The Hobbit is a timeless classic but i thimk that i have outgrown it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
The Hobbit is a thrilling adventure story about an ordinary Hobbit named Bilbo Baggins who is persuaded into joining a group of dwarves on a quest to find and slaughter the great dragon, Smaug. Accompanying them is a wizard named Gandalf, who acts as a savior for the group frequently and proves to be a better fighter than you would first expect from an old man. They encounter goblins, orcs, trolls and many other dangerous creatures that attempt to stop them from reaching their goal and the group soon realise that finding Smaug is going to be very difficult.

Although this book is quite lengthy, I never got bored of reading it. If you haven’t read this book, you are missing out; It was brimming with nail biting action (funnily enough I have no nails left) and was very hard to put down as it always left you curious about what would happen next! If you are the adventurous type, then I would suggest you head to the library now.

This book was first published by George Allen & Unwin in 1937, The Hobbit has been translated into over 50 different languages and sold well over 100 million copies since then. J.K. Rowling described the book as an inspiration upon her own work and it was nominated for the Carnegie Medal Award and was awarded a prize from the New York Herald Tribune for the best new fiction.

In this book there are nineteen chapters. In case you were wondering, yes I do have a favourite. It is the sixth chapter and is called ‘Out of the frying pan, into the fire’. This chapter starts with them all escaping from the goblins and realising they are missing Bilbo. They argue about how they never should have brought him but Gandalf does not side with the dwarves. Then, Bilbo jumps out of the bushes and surprises them. They all cheer in delight and Gandalf adopts a smirk of sorts. Their happiness is ended when they are ambushed by the orcs. They rush to the nearest tree and climb up it, Bilbo the last one up. Gandalf uses his magic to set alight to a pinecone and passes it down the tree. They use the fire to scare away the orcs who cannot go near the fire on their beasts. Using this opportunity, they all escape.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
A very well-produced edition with an up-to-date text, well-printed on quality paper and with a solid binding. Mercifully it comes only with Tolkien's own illustrations and dust-jacket.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
the only issue was the delay in the arrival of the book - it is a story I know and love from years ago - but my original copy had been long lost in one of many house moves .. am pleased to have my own copy once more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
Absolutely great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2016
Brilliant, arrived on time and as described, my son is going to be really pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
Cannot express how happy I was to get this book. Stunning edition in great condition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
Beautiful, quality, and value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
very good condition good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)