Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
93
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2009
Fac 51 - The Hacienda - How Not To Run A Club - Peter Hook

The Hacienda - several things spring to mind when the name is mentioned - gangsters , guns, drugs, violence , acid house - we've heard it all before ..... Or have we?

Peter Hook, bass player in Joy Division / New Order and co-owner of the Hacienda candidly tells the story of Manchester's most iconic super club from its inception to its closure .

Hooky gives a unique insight into the heady days of club culture in Manchester. From the Ben Kelly design which went five times over budget, to police interference ,monotonous weekly management meetings and the financial nightmare that the Hacienda became. As if we wouldn't expect any less, Hooky writes the book in his typical trademark tongue in cheek fashion. Hooky's direct, tell it as it is, approach grips the reader from the start to finish. While it becomes clear throughout the book that none of those involved had any idea of how to run a successful club or bar, the excitement felt at being involved in the ever evolving music scene is evident through Hooky's enthusiastic descriptions and anecdotes.

A chapter is devoted to each year the Hacienda was open and includes 16 illustrated pictures of the Hacienda inside and out, posters, flyers and even a rare picture of the enigma, Alan Erasmus. The "What's On" section from each year lists the events that took place every month and will take many people back and jog memories for the ones who had forgotten they were there! Excerpts from the company accounts and committee meetings are also provided for each year, illustrating the costs involved and the difficulties faced financially.

This story is not just Hooky's story, but also the story of the many other people involved in The Hacienda, The Dry Bar and Factory records and how these initially separate enterprises became inextricably linked. We learn not only how the relationships of those involved developed over the years but how the careers of renowned club dj's were launched, such as Hacienda pot collector Laurent Garnier, John Dasilva and Mike Pickering.

In 1997 the doors to the country's most famous club closed forever, but the memory, for those who lived through the highs and lows lives on in this book ,in this story, Hooky's story.

This a great read and highly recommended, not only for the true New Order/ Peter Hook fan but for anyone with an interest in the rise and fall of the Hacienda and the evolvement of the British music and club scene of the 1980's and 1990's.

Steve Smith

[...]
44 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
An excellent new view on an already familiar tale. Tony Wilson has given his perspective.
Now Hooky gives us a warts and all run through of the 14 years that most of the money
made by New Order was ploughed into the black hole which was the Hacienda. Essential reading
for all prospective club owners and historians of modern Manchester. He had a lot of fun
but it cost him. Well written and full of anecdotes which I had never heard before.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2010
I've never been to the Hacienda - not even been to Manchester.
Anayway, as a long time German New Order fan, I took a great deal of interest in everything, the band was doing.
I always was more a Barney fan than a Hooky follower - but... "How Not To Run A Club" changed that quite a bit.
Hooky tells the story of the Hacienda from his point of view: He tells the ups and downs and even more downs and the many maistakes and misfortunes the Hac and especially New Order and he himself were involved in.
The writig is funnny and ironic, written from a knowing and distant perspective. The story Hooky tells is exciting and funny, sometimes sad. I would have prefered more New Order insider stories - the Ibiza interlude and its Rock'n Roll anecdotes are very entertaining - but well, its all about the club, isn't it? "How Not To Run A Club" is a book about idealism, friendship and loyalty, loss and things falling apart - and, after all, music and lust for life.
The playlists and pictures give more information abou the Hacs unique history and make me even more regret that I've never been there.
Highly recommended!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
As a teenager in the era of New Order and Joy Division I had to read this book. Brought back some great memories and an understanding of what was behind the music trends of the 80s and 90s. Emotionally written by someone living the true Rock n Roll lifestyle. Life certainly lived in the present and to the full. An exciting gripping read with highs (excuse the pun) and lows pulling you through each chapter. Fantastic book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
This is the book about the myth, the legend, the club, the Hacienda that we all wanted to read. It takes you into the mismanagement, the gangs, the rise of Rave, the DJ's and into just how artistically forward the Factory team were (if only money wasn't an object) instead your left reading EVERY chapter shaking your head at every business mistake (Dragons Den would be having a fit) and hoping that Tony Wilson, Hooky, Rob Gretton survive................ Instead the Hacienda is a true Factory product: the stuff of legend which will live on in cultural folklore without any sterling to show for it.
One thing that will please every reader is that Hooky is a fantastic raconteur and pulls off the hard job of making the story personal and objective. Its a compliment to the bloke that halfway through you desperately want a pint with him.
The end of chapter DJ set list is a drag but worth a spotify as you can experience the musical progress of the Hacienda. Read this and you realize just how lucky Ministry of Sound are for having a continuing legacy but also wonder if this would have been dwarfed if Hacienda had of been better managed and sustained over a period of time.
Either way. I NEVER want to own or run a club lmao
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2009
Startlingly honest, takes you right into the seedy, sweaty, smoke filled, drug fueled heart of the Hacienda. Made me wish that I had had the balls to go there when I was a daft lad.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
Well it does exactly what it says on the cover. If you ever want to run a nightclub badly this book will tell you how to do it! I bought this book after reading Hookey's second book about his Joy Division days. That book was excellent and neither was I dissapointed with this one. Its hard to believe that so many people could be so nieve and gullable when it comes to business. Reading this book perhaps gives the impression that Wilson and Gretton saw the band coming and milked them accordingly! The money went somewhere after all and the book gives several possible answers.
Its a good read with many tales of trouble as well as delights. The only drawback is that some things can get repetitive. Was there any need to publish more than one copy of the accounts or list after list of people who played/ DJ'd in the club night after night for the 15yrs of its exsistance. This is only a personal gripe though and should not detract you from buying this otherwise excellent book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2011
Like all the very best true life stories, The Hacienda (or 'Haç') is a great tale that also brilliantly captures a moment in time. In this case, that moment is the 1980s-early 1990s 'Madchester' scene - Manchester's trippy rave scene populated with gun-wielding gangsters, cocky drug dealers and a bunch of egotistical and starry-eyed music makers who believed that by simultaneously running a record label, a band and a club they could change the world. And they did, for a time. At the absolute epicentre of all the chaos and mayhem is the relationship between band New Order and iconic club, the Haç. The Haç is both cultural centrepiece and also possibly the worst-run business venture of all time.

New Order bassist Peter 'Hooky' Hook's open love letter to the legendary club and the music scene that revolves around it is a compelling read. Hooky is refreshingly honest and openly admits his own naivety and recklessness in pursuit of a dream. The narrative is littered with story after story of irresponsible stupidity by a cotterie of well-intentioned but dangerously hopeless romantics. There are also some brilliant anecdotes and one-liners that will have you shaking your head and laughing out loud at the same time. My personal favourite is the club bouncer who decided to deter a gang of local villians from taking up permanent residience at the club by decapitating one of their dogs with a machete. Hooky's disastrous trip to the emerging Ibiza scene is also recounted in glorious technicolour, as are the eye-watering amounts of band money ploughed into keeping the club afloat in the face of all good business sense.

In the end, I found myself giving up trying to judge who was right and who was wrong, and just enjoying the ride. Which is also, I suspect, what most of the cast of characters did long ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
Do we really think Peter just drifted from situation to situation without a "plan" on what he could do with what he had at each stage? That is the impression you get from the book that he was carried along by the actions of others and just found himself in certain positions.. Who cares! It is a great read all the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
I bought this on the understanding that it was a business reference and advice book. On this count it fails miserably. I have followed the book to the letter & my own club has yet to turn any profit.

However, I persevered & was rewarded with what must be one of the very best stories in pop history. Honestly, if it wasn't true, you'd never be able to make it up.

Written like it was coming out of the mouth of Mr. Hook himself over a many pints & chasers down the pub. Him having a good old moan about it all but rising up remembering the good times.

Hysterical for all the wrong reasons & totally recommended. Thank you.

But whoever put this together for the Kindle version should reconsider their profession. Maybe Hookey did it himself? If so, I can understand. All he needed was a bit more time....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse