Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 25 January 2013
I have the first version of this book on Kindle and hesitated to buy the physical product at first, but I'm so glad I did.

The book is substantial and has many new additions that newcomers and owners of the first edition will benefit from. It is exhaustive in it's exploration of the subject matter but not exhausting. The author writes in an entertaining and engaging style and it's hard not to be won over by his passion for this subject matter. Aside from the business of making HDR images there are tutorials, software, image examples from the bracketed exposures to the sIBL library all included on the DVD and even open source projects to improve the functionality of your camera.

If you're interested or exploring HDR for Tone-mapping, panoramas, CG-Relighting this will take you from knowing nothing, to shooting and producing excellent results.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2013
This book should convince you to investigate the techniques of High Dynamic Range Imaging. The author includes many step-by-step guides to techniques using a variety of HDRI software, some of it freeware. Also included with the book is a DVD with example pictures for you to experiment with, a range of software and a host of other goodies. And if you're into experimenting with hardware, there's a couple of projects including one that modifies and programs a Nintendo DS console to control your camera's shutter for producing the necessary range of shots at different exposures (especially useful for Canon users many of whose cameras are limited to +/- 1 stop bracketing). Expensive, but well worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2013
I love this book and bought primarily as a guide to HDRI. slightly disappointed towards the end of the book with the 3D & panoramic and CGI chapters. Personally I believe most people will not be interested in these last chapters & feel the subject matter contained in them should be confined to another book. Although detailed there is a lot of long winded technical info that is well beyond most. A more detailed approach to creating an HDR photograph with walkthroughs & settings would serve this book much better. A lot of early talk about settings that never seem to materialise! Far too much emphasis on the film industry. I'm sure there will be books better suited to a photographer than this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2013
Given the technical background of the subject this is an exceptionally easy read, extremely well compiled, also written with clarity and some appropriately placed humour. Haven't even got round to applying the exemplar 'lessons' yet, but already have found a greater and better understanding of the subject. Can't put it down!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2014
Very expensive so was it worth it.

Actually yes it was. I mean I do HDR and have learned a lot. But this really helped me improve on all that. By comparsion other books are a poor second to this one. Yes it is very expensive, but I read it cover to cover twice it was that interesting. He's got a sense of humour too which helps, and he basically lists all the HDR programmes out there, showing you each ones weakness and strong points. I use Oloneo, not cheap but very photo realistic. Thanks to this book I went from the lighter version to the full verison and haven't looked back since. But also since reading this book have given FDR tools another try and used Photomatix as well more.

You can really up your HDR photography with this book. It's the bible of HDR and I am really pleased I took the plunge and brought it. (I hesitated a lot first cause of the price).

Brilliant book and one that will change your game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2013
I bought this to swat up on the subject and to help with HDR lighting in scenes. Interestingly it's a very good read regardless, well written by someone with a huge enthusiasm for the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2013
Everything you need to know about HDRI Image based lighting etc etc etc. Great read looking forward to reading all of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2014
I didn't enjoy this book at all. OK, HDR is an inherently technical subject but that doesn't mean books about it have to be turgid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)