Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 6 October 2017
This book gave a truthful,brutal and sometimes hurtful to read account of one races obsession to keep another race down.But also shows how boxing has evolved from the madness of 100 years ago
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2006
In "The Great White Hopes", author Graeme Kent has done a splendid job of documenting the years 1908-15, also known as the white hope era of the heavyweight division.
This book contains facts about the fighters of that age which until now have been either forgotten or little known for the last 80+ years.
Kent also sets the record straight about certain lore and unaccuracies which have wrongly become accepted as fact over the years.
Overall, "The Great White Hopes" is a valuable piece of work that should be found in every serious boxing historians bookshelf. Recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
This superb book from Graeme Kent documents the panic that went into finding a white man who could, as novelist Jack London proclaimed after Johnson had won the world heavyweight title against Tommy Burns in Australia in 1908, "wipe the golden smile from the black mans face. " And more importantly, win the title back for the white race.

Mr Kent has done a sterling job of detailing the characters and events involved in this racially motivated atmosphere. Other biographies on Johnson have not detailed to the extent that this very interesting book has on the white mans obsession with getting back the championship at any cost.

Jack Johnson, on so many levels is the most interesting of boxers, both in and out of the ring. This fascinating read is a great addition to the ones I already have, authored by Roberts, deCoy, Ward, and two books by Johnson himself. It also gives the reader more knowledge of social attitudes regarding having a black man as the most powerful in the world outside of the american president.

Highly recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
I originally wrote a review of this book and since then I have re-read it prompted in part by a renewed interest in boxing as a result of the publicity surrounding Ricky Hatton's return to the ring. I must say that if anything re-reading this book has increased my impression of what a superb piece of writing this historical story is. I had forgotten just what a great weaver of historical fact and story teller Graeme Kent is. My original review was as follows:

"I took this book on holiday with me and whilst I am interested in heavyweight boxing and heavyweight boxing champions I am not a boxing nut. I can therefore highly recommend this book from a historical and well written as well as a social and boxing perspective. Jack Johnson, a black champion, was a superb fighter who trailblazed his way into the then white man's sport. The way Graeme Kent draws us into the complex story of how during Johnson's tenure numerous white challengers in a miriad of both legal and underhand manouvres were thrust forward to capture the world crown is an intriguing story in itself quite apart from Johnson's own self destructive impulses. Graeme Kent is a superb historical story teller and with the added spice of the white establishment and the vast majority of white America desperately seeking to dethrone the less than wholesome Johnson (whose desire for white women and hedonistic lifestyle did not help his cause) this book is almost unputdownable(!)"
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
I took this book on holiday with me and whilst I am interested in heavyweight boxing and heavyweight boxing champions I am not a boxing nut. I can therefore highly recommend this book from a historical and well written as well as a social and boxing perspective. Jack Johnson, a black champion, was a superb fighter who trailblazed his way into the then white man's sport. The way Graeme Kent draws us into the complex story of how during Johnson's tenure numerous white challengers in a miriad of both legal and underhand manouvres were thrust forward to capture the world crown is an intriguing story in itself quite apart from Johnson's own self destructive impulses. Graeme Kent is a superb historical story teller and with the added spice of the white establishment and the vast majority of white America desperately seeking to dethrone the less than wholesome Johnson (whose desire for white women and hedonistic lifestyle did not help his cause) this book is almost unputdownable(!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
Fantastic account of the search for a (white) boxer to beat the great Jack Johnson. The sheer hatred and out and out racism shown toward Johnson by the media is simply breathtaking. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
Excellent service, the book was a great read, Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)