Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 3 September 2017
For a freelancer or small businessman, this book is worth reading, but, unlike some other reviewers, I'd be very wary of treating it like a bible.

The evidence it presents is anecdotal; there's no real depth of research behind it. So sure, the author cites many businesses that have thrived from niche specialisations, but what about those that have failed using the same approach? Or those who have thrived from making their wider skills a virtue?

One of the main issues I have with it is from my own experience, both as a manager and a householder: over-specialisation is often a severe problem. (Do you know the old Flanders & Swann song, "The Gasman Cometh"? Check it out on youtube.There's still a lot of this about! )

I worked for an American company for several years, in which American management despaired over British over-specialisation. To give a concrete example: UK software developers who knew everything about their speciality, e.g. Java or Oracle, but were clueless about the world beyond, and could not understand how "their" technology interfaced with others, or roll their sleeves up and do software testing, training or work directly with end users when required.

One very successful local business I know differentiates themselves from the numerous plumber, carpenters and central heating engineers by their versatility - you have a problem with your shower or toilet, they fix it, even if it requires a mix of carpentry, plumbing an plastering expertise. (Wonder if their owner has read this book? Would be interesting.) And there are others I regularly use whose "niche" is just being very good, reliable and trustworthy - all the marketing in the world is no substitute for these.

Having said that, it's worth a read but please keep your critical faculties switched on while doing so!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
I found this book a really excellent step by step guide for professionals seeking to develop expert status. While it contains very good advice for strategic planning, it also provides very specific useful tactical tips on exactly how to go about things like networking and blogging in a very targeted way. (I mention these specifically as I find that they can often be ineffective time wasters if done without clearly focused objectives.)

I found the sections on publishing and speaking particularly interesting as the authors have obviously done it successfully and they share their practical experience openly and generously.

This book provides a blueprint for practice and personal development for professionals. The trick (as always) is likely to be in the implementation of the very many good ideas contained in it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2016
The book is great and Heather is a masterful expert in this area BUT do not buy the Kindle version of this book for two simple reasons;
1. It is not designed for Kindle, it is more like a pdf that you have to scroll and zoom and on a mobile or Ipad forget it.
2. FT press the publishers limit the number of licences to just 2 licences so you cant have it on your Ipad, phone and computer. Unbelievable in todays connected world and as I have more than 300 Kindle books this is the only one!
I did write to them but no response.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
Excellent book with in depth 'how to's' rather than just overview. Easy to follow and logical sequence makes this a brilliant guide. A definite must for any professional who are serious about building and developing their practice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
Having met Heather recently it made sense to follow up that excellent training with reading her book. I am glad I did as it was full of great advise and works across many industries. It is a book that once read you will go back to time and time again to remind yourself of the nuggets contained within
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2014
I haven't been this engaged in a book for a long time. Not only is it really readable and useful but you can download a really helpful workbook to write all your learning and plans into so you can really make great changes in your strategy. And the workbook is entirely free!
Then, if I wasn't already chuffed to bits, the author gives you her email address through which you can ask direct questions and get even more fuel for your plans. Bloomin marvellous!
I like it, can you tell?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
I should be annoyed really, giving away marketing secrets of switched on professionals.
Seriously though, heard Jon baker speak publicly and really enjoyed what I heard. Read the book cover to cover and was gob-smacked. Jon and Heather really know their stuff, this is a practical guide of how to market yourself and/ or your professional practice in the 21st century. Felt justified about the stuff I was doing and got a short sharp shock on what I wasn't. Am buying copies for my marketing guy and a few special clients. This isn't puff or hype, and I am not related just found it good to find a practical business book for a change..
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
The Go To Expert is required reading for professionals wanting to make the most out of themselves and their firms using all the tools available to them in this new digital age and advice on how to go out a truly become the Go To Expert

The book contains great advice on reputation, differentiation and winning new business.

Simple. Go Get!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
A simple to understand and adopt approach to differentiation in competitive marketplaces. The book is something you can pick up and refer to at any time and provides the navigation tools to win trusted status in your chosen networks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
The Go-To-Expert is an inspirational guide for accountants, lawyers and consultants who wish to develop their niche specialism. Packed with great ideas and insights, it enables you, the reader, to undertake the journey through a series of exercises, each building on the next, to create your proposition and tactical marketing plan for your target clients. I cannot recommend it highly enough - it will help and inspire you to become the Go-To-Expert.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)