Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
24
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2014
I am studying naturopathic nutrition, this book is one that all the teachers and students in higher levels recommend - and I can see why. It's brilliant. It has some detail on certain areas that a nutritional therapist may want to work on, not categorised by conditions or systems, but still very useful. The recipes are excellent, and the book comes with a CD-Rom which allows you to print off the recipes for clients, friends, family etc. Love this book!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
This is not one of those typical glossy cookbooks but it really is the one for anyone who seriously wants to learn about how certain dietary changes can improve their health by getting to the root cause of the imbalances that are causing problems (causes such as inflammation, adrenal stress and gastro-intestinal issues).
It is marketed as being an important resource for nutritionally-minded healthcare professionals, and as a student of nutrition I think it is very practical, tying in the science and fundamentals of functional medicine with recipes and lifestyle advice. Personally I think that anyone with a slightly scientific enquiring mind and a desire to understand their own or their familiy's health issues would find this enlightening and helpful.
My only criticism is that the CD-Rom doesn't really add anything, just a PDF of what's in the book - so I s'pose you could print recipes out rather than photocopy them if desired.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2012
I should declare a clear bias with this review, as Lorraine Nicoll co-authored Biochemical Imbalances in Disease, which is one of my favourite nutrition texts. She has now joined up with Christine Bailey to write what is an innovatory cookery book. Designed on a personalized, system-based approach, the reader is educated in two distinct ways. Firstly they are asked to think about how the body keeps optimally healthy by eating the sorts of foods that evidence based nutrition tells us works. Secondly the reader is shown in the form of a number of delicious recipes just how to use this knowledge and produce great food for the table.

Using nutrition to help with optimal body function ensures better energy and less illness when in the early and middle years, and less reliance on medication to reduce the common ailments prevalent in later years. There is much research telling us unequivocably that obesity, heart disease and diabetes have direct links to diet. So it would seem are a number of illnesses considered auto-immune in nature. All can be influenced by nutrient deficiencies or excess to have eventual effects on cell function microscopically and in whole systems when considered at a clinical level.

Nutritional intervention starts best in childhood. During the early years are where we as a society fail to appreciate the costs of using processed and convenience foods over natural whole foods that are produced in a more traditional manner for the table. This book provides the link between the practitioner and nutrition as a behavioural science-teaching us how to apply nutrition knowledge in our eating habit.

There's nothing I didn't like about the design or content of the book. Sure we are used to cookery books having lavish graphics and pictorial content-The Functional Nutrition Cookbook doesn't provide this, it's aimed at those who value substance over design. Our copy is up alongside Jamie, Lorraine, Anjum and Rick's books, but it'll be used to plan our family's meals just as often as the traditional cookery titles.

I've tried several of the healthy snacks and soups out on our own family, and there were no unfinished plates. In particular I recommend the Thai Beef Salad followed by Strawberry Coconut Ice Cream. It works-and so does this rather excellent book!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
If you look a real road map for a healthy diet you should buy this book. You'll gain professional tips, recipes and 3day meal plans for the most popular diseases like diabetes etc. combined in one book. Great inspiration for everybody. It's really useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
This book helps you understand how the different functions of the body may be helped by what we eat and how we prepare food
and provides easy to follow recipes which are not only nutritious but delicious and effective at improving how we function. It also goes into greater depth giving explanations and evidence based on research to support the use of 'functional nutrition'.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
This is a really useful in depth book if you want to dig deep into the body's biochemical functioning, The recipes work although the one for pecan and banana bread would be mega expensive to make. It did adapt successfully when I substitued 50% ground almonds and the rest with rice flour and maize for the pecans.
The impact on our bodies by the food we eat was clearly spelt out with out resorting to fads, spurious research or exaggeration. An honest look at the subject encouraging further exploration from the reader.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
This really is a brilliant book. Two of the very best nutritional therapists in the UK have come up with some marvellous recipes and explained why and when they will benefit your health. The recipes I have tried have been fantastic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
A 'targeted' cookbook great for all who work in the functional medicine context and personalized nutrition. Addresses biochemical imbalances to body systems and functions like GI, detox-antiox, cell membranes integrity, blood glucose balance, hormonal, immune and brain function by implementing nourishing dietary recommendations.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
Fantastic position, it's a must for both practitioners and these who love food. It Provides receipts and also metabolic pathways and a lot of useful biochemical information in very accessible manner.
Money well spent!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
Great recipes suitable for anyone who wants to manage their health through diet. Particularly useful for nutritional therapists as can share recipes with clients given inclusion of CDROM
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)