Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
29
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 September 2003
This is without a doubt the best book I have ever read on the subject of getting assignments as a freelance writer.
There's no padding or 'fluff' in here -- Mr Crofts' gets straight down to the nitty gritty of how to get work.
This isn't a book for people who want to learn how to write. It's a book for writers who want to make a decent living from their craft.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Like many people I have read libraries of guide books for would-be writers. This, undoubtedly, is one of the best. I read it cover to cover in a couple of hours and then went back the next day to learn some more.

Clearly expressed, in logically structured sections, this book will certainly guide you through the process of finding the right topics to write about, the right people to pitch them to and, most importantly, how to cope with the rejection while waiting for the really big break-through.

The good news is that if you read this book and follow the advice then you won't even notice the rejection slips - you'll be too busy working on the next article that you are going to sell!

One to read and keep, making sure you re-read it regularly.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2006
Since I bought this book I have had numerous articles published. Andrew Crofts is a realist, with sections on "Learning to Bear Rejection" as well as inspirational stories of people who've made a success of writing. The best bits are the practical tips, eg on how to sell stories; how to tell if your idea for a story is a good one; and even such nitty gritty stuff as keeping good records. Not every chapter will apply to everyone, but the book as a whole is a valuable compendium of sensible advice.
My favourite tip: the best way to handle rejection is to have so many projects on the go that there's always something to be optimistic about.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2004
Andrew Crofts doesn't pull any punches. He knows how hard it can be to make it as a writer, and makes sure you know it too! The he goes on to tell you how to maximise your chances, giving you all the know-how and tips he has gathered over his long-standing career. Not for the faint-hearted, but definitely for those who really want to make it. User-friendly, and deeply inspirational!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2006
If you want to get involved in the actual business of freelance writing there is no better guide on the market. Andrew Crofts is well known in the book trade as a ghost writer and it is seldom that he doesn't have a book in the best-seller lists, even if it doesn't have his name on it.

Unlike many books on writing, this book actually tells you how to write for a living and is not full of the normal obsequies to editors that usually plague books like these and reveal a definite bias to the amateur.

Not much use if you want to write a heart-felt labour-of-love novel, otherwise excellent.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2003
I am amazed by this book I bought today and have almost finished in hours. It's readable, fascinating and written by an expert. The author shows you what the pitfalls of freelance writing are, how best to equip yourself against them and how to adapt to them. He also offers something else, a magical addition, positivie thinking. The tone is not : "Well.. I suppose you COULD DO IT.' But 'In spite of all the bad stuff, you will do it." There's no secret contained within this book. Fantastic advice and helping the beginner writer to find confidence in themselves. Crofts is the voice in the head which says "yes you can." The voice you always believed most of all.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2010
I bought this book after reading the reviews and felt compelled to write a review myself. I was expecting an all meat and no fluff guide, but unfortunately, the reverse is true. While there were some good tips scattered throughout, in general the book was more like an overview of the world of freelancing than an in-depth guide on how to excel in this area. In particular, the section on magazine writing was terrible. It literally glossed over the types of markets with absolutely NO advice on pitching or how to break into the market in the first place.

As a freelance writer myself, I am always on the lookout for ways to improve my writing and open the doors to more opportunities, but this book really was not it. This book is fine if you want general advice, but not if you are a freelancer looking to improve their career. I would strongly suggest you get 'How to pitch and sell a freelance feature' by Catherine Quinn and also 'The Copywriting Sourcebook' by Andy Malsden. And the ultimate would be Peter Bowerman's 'The Well-Fed Writer'. This should be the bible for ALL freelancers looking to exploit new avenues.

As someone who has built a successful freelance career in less than four months, I found this book to be patronizing and condescending to most freelance writers. We KNOW you need to research well, and we KNOW you can turn one article into several. It's not rocket science. Don't waste your money and buy a proper freelance book instead.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2004
Dare I give less than five stars?!
An amazing amount of advice and tips from a wealth of first-hand experience. Great to have as a reference, and the book covers nearly all areas. However, it is not for everyone; whereas one reader may find it inspirational, others may not, although the author does his best to be encouraging. A large part of the suggested marketing tactics in the book will only work if you have lots of spare time and are free of commitments to take off at a moments' notice and actually carry them out, not a realistic prospect if you have 2 kids round your ankles or are struggling to write while holding on to the day-job.
However, a very good book.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2002
Andrew Crofts' book demonstrates why he has succeeded as a writer. It's a masterpiece or plain, simple, effective writing, encouraging readers to go out and win. His style is easy going, with not a trace of patronisation. He pulls no punches in telling you it's a tough world out there, but he really does show you how your experience can be different from the 99% who'll fail. Add to that that it's a highly readable book and what more could you ask? After all, if you think you can do better, he shows you how to go about proving it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2005
For those serious about making a living from writing, this book offers advice 'right between the eyes'- no coloured lenses here!
That said, there is no lasting injury as it delivers ideas and a sense of excitement about all the opportunities available - guidance on how to capitalise on them too. Completely 'un-put-down-able' and inspiring.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)