Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2017
Poirot at his best, a little confusing at times but the usual twist at the end makes it good entertainment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Love Poirot books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
Easy to read classic. Ideal for half an hour before turning out the light!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
A great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
I absolutely love this book Agatha at her best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
When I first read this book, I couldn't understand the plot or anything else in this story. Having read it a few times I now understand it a bit more. If you are new to Christie's Poirot then don't read this as your first novel, as you might feel put off as it is certainly different from any Poirot novels Christie has written before. There is plenty of murder involved, but this is on a more grand scale. This is an international story written about prominent people within the world who instill terror by stealth, and Poirot happens to be aware of what they are about and decides to go on the chase and catch these people. Has Poirot finally met his match or can he and his sidekick Hastings conquer the world of espionage and manipulation?

This book is an acquired taste, but I would certainly recommend it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2012
I am an avid Agatha Christie fan and have read all her books. I really think Agatha Christie must have had a bad day when she came up with this plot. It is very different from other Poirot books in that Poirot is travelling around to try to destroy The Big Four rather than using his "little grey cells" in my view this takes away a lot of the pleasure in the book. The plot is poor and unrealistic - four people trying to take over the world and Poirot being the only person that can stop them! Unless you are a dedicated Agatha Christie fan I recommend you give this book a miss.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
Very poor the plot was ridiculous and seemed to be spread over a year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2017
Some reviewers have not noted that this is an early work by Agatha Christie (1927) and it is interesting to compare the Poirot of this book with the Poirot of later, perhaps more sophisticated straightforward mysteries. This does has a series of mysteries solved in turn by our beloved Hercule, but all as part of a larger narrative. Christie was almost certainly influenced by earlier mystery story writers and perhaps by such tales of John Buchan's The Thirty Nine Steps. But in turn, this book I think must have influenced the James Bond stories, especially the culmination of the whole narrative. A little naive perhaps to us now, but surprisingly well worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse