Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
222
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£61.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2013
Though bought as a present for my father, I was just as keen to see this timeless production. When I started two view it, I noticed two things that made it stand out from many of the inferior dramas nowadays.

Firstly, there was no music in the background that gets tend to be inserted to overdramatise a moment. We can see for ourselves how things are. It almost seems as if we are eavesdropping on the people that are talking.

Secondly, there are the remarkably long takes between scenes. The experienced and talented actors such as Kenneth More, Nyree Dawn Porter, Eric Porter and Susan Hampshire can play long scenes without constant changes of camera angles.

Though some many may be put off by it being filmed in black and white, they shouldn't be. It adds to the sense of occasion that it is far in the past. In the episode 'Birth of a Forsyte', it incorporates easily actual footage of Queen Victoria's funeral.

For anyone contemplating whether to buy this or the more recent version, there is no contest. This goes into incredible depth with the storylines and tells everything in full. The other glosses over or ignores so much.

A real bargain for any lover of quality drama.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2011
There were no surprises here for me, I knew exactly what I was buying having owned the VHS version for many years but The Forsyte Saga represents the best that the BBC has ever offered in period drama. When it was made back in the sixties there was no pandering to modern audiences with out of period sayings or props. The viewer is transported back in time to the way things were from 1879 through the turn of the century to the Edwardian period and beyond. A magnificent cast too numerous to list here and sadly many of them having since died put on a performance that is unlikely ever to be forgotten. The picture quality of the DVD is superb and greatly exceeds that of my old VHS box set. Well worth the current price. It is just a pity that had it been made four years later it would have been in colour.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
The Forsyte Sage, vintage 1967, has withstood the test of time and triumphed over recent vintages with depth, subtle layering and nuanced acting that gives a satisfying finish. The written series by Galsworthy may be too dense for modern readers, but this BBC adaptation sticks to the essentials without losing any of the deep issues that such a saga worth the time. Margaret Tyzak is particularly fine as Winifred Forsyte Dartie, bringing a zesty sense of flowering from restrictive age to modern expression without ever losing her appreciation for what is lost in the gain. The camerawork is generally good despite the lack of colour, the scenery and costumes are top-notch, and only the fake southern accents in the latter episodes mar the overall wonderful interpretations. This is a good series to watch as a prelude to reading John Galsworthy's books, or as an altogether satisfying subsitute.

The case and discs are nicely presented, with episode and chapter titles on the reverse of each individual case-page; my set has played without skip or mismatch throughout. Well produced with a solid slipcover.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 July 2011
When this was first shown on TV I was enthralled. I have just finished watching it again after all these years. It did not disappoint. Eric Porter was magnificent as was Margaret Tysac. However I thought the earlier episodes were stronger with so many good character actors. There is no use in regretting it was not in colour and anyone who did not experience the black and white days may have found it dated but I did not. A great experience revisited.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
I had been watching a newer version of The Forsyte Saga on television recently. I was not impressed by the acting. I then bought the original version, although in black an white, the cast and acting are far superior. Highly recommended
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2011
This is a rare, quality production. As faithful to the original work as is possible in a different medium. The cast is carefully chosen by someone who has read the books rather than a quick, cobbled together sketch of what the characters do, rather than who they are. It appears as though everyone connected with the making of the series has read the books. Not just from the story line but also from the way the actors stand, talk and walk to the excellent direction, acting and set creation. Anyone who has read and loved the books can recognise the characters before they are named, or even before they speak. In fact, this is one of the best adaptations of a literary work I have ever seen and ranks alongside 'I, Claudius' as a Jewel in the Crown of the BBC archive.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
What a delightful series! I don't think they are able to make them like this anymore. The series encourages one to read the original book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
Watched it almost back to back during a rainy period. The slight grainy appearance did not detract from the excellent acting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
We have the set on video but I decided to buy it on DVD for my husband for an anniversary present as he likes it so much (as do I!)and the DVD has interesting extras. We watch it once a year without fail when the nights draw in. The book would be my desert island choice, it has all of life in it and it is superbly captured by this adaptation. Th other more recent adaptation is interesting and well done, but cannot compete in my view and it isn't exactly faithful to the original story, the ending being tweaked for effect.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Superb to enjoy this once again after 40 years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)