Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 May 2017
This is a review of the 1st edition (published in the early 1970's) - see Joy of Sex: Gourmet Guide to Lovemaking. The book has been subsequently re-issued several times, most recently with colour photos and new content (written by a different author) - see The New Joy of Sex. For some reason, Amazon bundles together all the reviews for the different editions.

I find that the original edition has more charm to it! Written immediately after the counter-culture revolution, which involved a sexual revolution, this book was met with praise ... whereas if it had been published a decade earlier it would have been met with scorn. Still, certain states in the US viewed it as pornographic and banned it from inclusion in public libraries!!!

The fact is, it's an educational book offering guidance. The book explains the 'joy' to be experienced through good sex. And then it offers instruction on a variety of sex positions. Throughout, there are black and white drawings - which are very artistic.

It's short and simple - yet effective. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
This is a really interesting and insightful book cover techniques, terminology and tenderness when it comes to sex. This is a great book for couples or the individual who just wants to know more about their own sexual potentials or there possible partners.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a decent book that addresses a difficult subject, one that it is important to know about yet most people find hard to discuss. It is quite grand in its ambitions, and while a little useful I found that it didn't quite reach the heights.

Setting out to discuss all aspects of sex, from descriptions of the various bodily parts involved, methods of arousal, positions, health considerations etc etc, it is certainly ambitions. However, it did not go deep enough for me, with descriptions that just brush over the surface and told me nothing I did not know from school. The layout and general tone is also faulty - a book like this can either be a deep and informative text book, going into every subject chapter and verse; or a work of art such as the Karma Sutra; or a simple set of positions. Clever arrangements and too much humour do not really have a place. The authors have tried to structure the book as a menu for a meal, with starters, main course, dessert etc. This makes information hard to find, and by using euphemisms it almost feels a little like a Carry On film rather than the frank and open discussion that is required.

That said, there is useful information to be found here. I just think that a more rigorous and less euphemistic approach would have really lifted this to a height. 3 stars.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2017
Great update of the original book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
This book is a well known classic in sex literature, however i was disappointed with the illustrations and generally with the ideas for positions.

They're is a lot of information and psychological analysis of love and sex which was interesting but not what i had expected. if looking for a book on ideas for varied intercourse go with something else. If looking for a book that goes into the details of the mind regarding love then this book is for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Easy to read. Explorable ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2001
I first bought this book when I was a naive, horny sexually uneducated teenager. It was (and in my humble opinion, still is) the best book I could ever have read in order to fill in the many blanks in my eductation.
This book runs the sexual gamut from A to Z, filling in the curious on everything from basic social biology, complexhuman interactions, and advice on - gasp! - SEX, and LOVE as well, surprising as it may sound. One note which gets sounded throughout the book is that while sex might be good, very good, great, or reiligiously toe-curling in the orgasm department, it gets even better, and deeper, in the context of a loving relationship. Speaking from personal experience, I can concur that fulfilling sex and love combined are two of the best things in the world - all I need to do is find them again!
Despite having been written many, many years ago, The Joy Of Sex remains as fresh and relevant today as it did when it was first published all those years ago. The sheer universality of this fantastic volume stands out wherever you happen to dipinto it to read, as I still do, although recent reprints have added relevant information in the recent light of HIV and AIDS. The message remains the same, however. That good sex, done safely and consensually, with a loving partner will enhance your life and your love life equally - a goal well worth striving for!
What are you waiting for? Go and buy this book! It's the best book on love and sex I have ever read- what better recommendation can I give?
David.
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2000
The joy of sex is a well known book and it's been a favourate of many people for a long time. I first got it as a present from my husband 3 years ago and we've never looked back. With easy to folow diagrams and a frank and refreshingly honest commentry, it provides the perfect bedside companion.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2010
This book help my partner and I to find different ways of having sex without necessarily it being full blown intercourse.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)