Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
64
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2017
Did see this in the 80's and remember it was somewhat more graphic than this version, although the opening war section is intact, convinced this is a cut version as some violent scenes are badly edited, nowhere near as controversial as advertised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2017
Great, quick delivery thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
it was okay
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
With shades of Death Wish, what you have here is an unbelievably violent revenge thriller that is more like a horror film at times.
A mentally scarred Vietnam veteran takes on the street gangs of New York when his best friend is paralysed in a brutal mugging.
It doesn't stop there.
He then goes after the local mafia boss to get money for his friends wife and kids and then encounters a place that deals in serving up children to perverts.
All of them die horribly, the news papers name him "The Exterminator" and he seems to be becoming a bit of a hero to the people.
This catches the attention of the local government who don't like the idea of this one man army cleaning up the crime in the city when they have failed to do so themselves and so enlist the help of a very sinister CIA man to eliminate our anti hero.
This film is one of the last great exploitation movies, it uses real locations and takes us to the parts of New York best left alone by tourists.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 January 2016
In this 1980 vigilante story, two Vietnam veterans return home to find civilian life harder than expected after stopping a theft at work. When one is crippled in a revenge attack the other goes all out to get his own revenge on the gang that did it. Soon he takes up a vigilante course as he sets out to right the wrongs done to others, But is he biting off more than he can chew?
This gives a good view of the seedy side of New York in the late 70’-early 80’s as well as showing some good aerial shots of famous city landscapes ‘way back when....’. The movie itself feels very 70’s in style seeming like an extended version of “Starsky and Hutch” only from the exterminators point of view. It also gives a gloss free look at life for ‘ordinary folk’ at the bottom of the social ladder, omitting the usual Hollywood gloss and sentimentality as he tries to do the right thing in the wrong way.
The single disc opens to a main screen offering play, scene index, trailer and synergy showcase [basically 6 trailers]. Despite being filmed on a $2,000,000 it comes across as much less, [the Huey/opening Vietnam sequences costing $400,000, the beheading scene $25,000, where the rest went I can only guess.] Containing plenty of old fashioned oily explosions and some gory scenes, it’s the sick perverted scenes that are mostly suggested that makes this highly disturbing, easily making it an 18 view and will appeal to Grindhouse fans. Samantha Egger actually has a small bit part.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
In this day and age it is pretty rare to see B-Movies from 30 years + getting a release, let alone on Blu-Ray.
When you had the cult appeal for people my age around such a title, to a great HD treatment you can just go wow over it.

Now to top it off, it comes with sweet bonuses that are just the icing on the cake.

FANTASTIC release.

Now just to nitpick I would say that the Arrow vanity reel before you get to the menu emphasizes a -bit- too much on gory scenes from Horror movies. I've seen some of them ages ago and liked them for their own merit, but the guys at Arrow could really turn the Blood-o-meter down a bit. I know, I know... The Exterminator has its fair share of gory cultish scenes too, so what do I care ?
Well I told you... I'm nitpicking : if you like the Exterminator and have HD : you can safely blind buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
Robert Ginty rocks this movie hard by playing a calm chap doing good on the streets of New York after turning vigalante! Cleaning up the scum from the neighbourhood and rightly so! No one is safe the mafia, locals hoods and dirty porn house owners! Just great! Loved it from the first time I watched it in the early 80's! Great movie! Robert Rocks!! J Counsell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
ive been extremely satisfied with this dvd, its almost new, was sent turbocharged, and as I haven't watched it since the 80's I enjoyed it very much!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
a good film a bit gory at times but worth watching keeps u n the edge of ur seat frm start 2 finish
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)