Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
14
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2017
Everything you expect from this author. Great read. So different from the Jack Irish series. Just goes to show how versatile Peter Temple is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
First chapter ('house-jacking' in Saf. Africa) - best first chapter I've ever read. Grabs you by the throat, and you can't wait for the story to continue.

Unfortunately, the story then does continue with mostly amazingly complex (and dull) happenings in a 'spy factory' in Hamburg.

Very good 'chase', and search, and showdown, but - boyyo - does getting there take perseverence!

The elements of an outstanding novel, spoiled by the unnecessary complexity and obtusenes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
I really do enjoy reading Peter temple's books and wish he had written more. This one didn't disappoint.

The plot is quite complex but that suited me as it makes me take it more slowly to ensure that I don't miss something - it also makes it last longer which is important when you know you have no more Peter Temple books left to read.

The book is a complete departure from his previous novels, being mostly based in Hamburg, but it has the same sparse writing style which leaves the reader to work things out for himself.

So yes, highly recommended and if you haven't read any of Peter Temple's other books - get started now.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
Taut, tense and plausible. Temple manages to link his familiar wounded men into a convincing opp overarching narrative that spans different places and times. Moving out of his usual Australian setting Temple drops the dry, laconic humour that adds so much to his crime novels but that is more than compensated for by the broader canvas of a more ambitious work. Definitely recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2016
Excellent writer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
This man writes a good story ,well plotted ,captures the corruption and evil that could go on unchecked in a small Australian town . Police running the show , covering vice and god knows what else .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
I have read all his books and love the style and twists, but couldn't get going with this one. Gave up after 30 or so pages as I couldn't follow what was happening. Disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
A fantastic book full of layers that are a delight to discover. You are plunged straight into the action and have to work out what is happening along with the characters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
In part difficult to follow but overwhelming fascinating and impossible to put down. How does Temple make his heroes so likeable, given the world they inhabit?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
I have read his entire work and it never fails to entertain,I like the jack Irish books the best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse