Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
18
3.9 out of 5 stars
The Essential Anita Harris
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


on 22 June 2017
Two of the tracks are brilliant, as for the others, well to be honest i won't be playing them to often.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
Heard an Anita Harris track on the radio recently, which reminded me how good she was, have not heard her sing for years now. Looked up and bought this CD, and it as not disappointed, nice mixture of songs. Very pleased to have it in my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERon 18 March 2005
Anita had just four UK hits including Just loving you, which made the top ten. Anniversary waltz did best of the others, just missing the top twenty. Dream a little dream of me might have been a bigger hit, but had to compete with a version by Mama Cass that just missed the top ten. Those three are all included here but Playground (which only just made the charts) is omitted.
Apart from those three hits, this set also includes Anita's covers of famous songs such as Look of love (Dusty Springfield), You've lost that loving feeling (Righteous brothers), Maxwell's silver hammer (Beatles), Sunshine superman (Donovan) and Somewhere over the rainbow (Judy Garland). There are also some lovely obscure songs such as It's better with a band, Butterfly with coloured wings and Live your dream, to name a few.
While Anita was more popular as a TV performer than as a recording artist, the music will remain long after the TV shows have been forgotten. This is a fine collection of Anita's music.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2011
Anita Harris had one of the most versatile and perfect singing voices of the Sixties, but she did not have a lot of success in the charts. Any 20-track album entitled "The Essential Anita Harris" would consist of the gentle love-song hits "Just Loving You" and "Anniversary Waltz" plus a selection of lesser-known tracks, but these aren't the lesser-known tracks that I would have selected.
I would have selected only love songs to match "Just Loving You" and "Anniversary Waltz", but the compiler of this album has selected a very varied mixture. Many of the songs are forceful, in a similar style to Liza Minnelli or Shirley Bassey, and there are also novelty songs. The sentimentality of "Anniversary Waltz" is quickly killed by the next track: a cover of the Beatles' "Maxwell's Silver Hammer"!
If you want a varied album for listening to in the car then this is a good one, but if you want some background music for a candlelit evening then choose something else.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2003
I have never been able to understand why Anita Harris has not had the recognition/adulation that artistes such as Dionne Warwick, Cher, Bee Gees receive. Perhaps it is because many other performers simply revisit their past triumphs, most of the time churning out material of the same style, never stretching themselves or developing and regularly raking it in on anniversary tours. This is something that Harris has never done, and this is a loss to her audience.
In my opinion Anita is one of the most talented female vocalists in the world, listening to any of her recordings will instantly lighten my mood, she expresses powerful sentiment and quiet sentimentality into her music, performing each song for its individuality, never repeating herself and always delivering the goods. Bacharach has never sounded better.
Generally I am indifferent to 'Best of' compilations. Here at last (and why did it take so long to be released) is one compilation I will buy several copies of (in the knowledge that friends will 'borrow' it) and keep one in the car, one at home and several spare.
Cherished memories of Anita's definitive Peter Pan are not disappointed by revisiting 'Nobody', worth buying the CD simply for this track, never mind the classics 'Just Loving You' and 'Anniversary Waltz', both of which seem to get better with age.
Record Executives take note, here is a lady with more talent in her little finger than all the current artistes in the Top 40 put together. Surely it's time to persuade her to return to the studio. More elusive to the recording studio than Streisand these days it's about time we have a UK artiste to be proud of. We have Harris, let's celebrate and cherish her.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 15 September 2013
I got this CD having happy memories of seeing Anita on many TV shows and live in stage productions from the 1960s onwards. I found the mix of material on the CD a delight and as you will see there are not many compilations available. Anita is still treading the boards Sept 2013 and if you do get the chance to see her get her to autograph a copy of this great CD. A talented lady and a true star.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2008
I have managed to find nearly all of these gems on vinyl over the years. I remember being in love with the lovely Anita and her 'Galaxy'-smooth voice as a young lad. She was every inch the glamourous pop star. I loved her appearances on the David Nixen show - and particularly remember a show when they showed a pioneering split-screen video of multiple Anitas singing in harmony with each other. And yes, I was lucky enough to have seen the great lady as Peter Pan. Never to be forgotten - I can't believe I'm finally going to be able to get these great recordings on CD. Roll on 17th March!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2015
great introduction cd of the very under-rated anita harris.but then buy(like myself)the 8 albums on vinyl from the 1960's and 1970's.also treat yourself to the brilliant vinyl cd single of "just loving you".
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
Like many other recordings I bought this one because of one particular melody (Loving you) which was once successfully covered in my own country. I'm in a habit of collecting the originals of the cover versions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
I've met Anita Harris and she is just as delightful as her public persona suggests. This collection shows her voice off well. She should have been a much bigger star than she is remembered to be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Can't Smile Without You
£7.99
The Wee Small Hours
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)