Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2014
This is a short read. I am interested in the spiritual and peaceful aspects of Buddhism. I am non religious but recently becoming more spiritual and enjoy listening to Buddhist talks on YouTube and also meditating. This book is great for giving me a quick but easily understood idea of Buddhism and sets things out clearly without being complicated. The tips on meditation are so helpful and now I truly know what meditating is or should be and its purposes
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
I have been reading in to Buddhism lately and found this book to not be at the level of some of the others that are available for the same price. This is not to say, however, that this book did not cover some good topics
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
Easy to understand and very clear information that allows the reader to appreciate the beliefs and practices. Simple enough for younger people to use too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
An excellent little book. Do not be deceived by its brevity, clearly a lot of thought has gone into every sentence. Clear and simple text does not mean the content is unrefined, but rather it speaks to the work of the author who has thought long and had about every word written to distill the essence of buddhism
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
An excellent introduction to an ancient religion. It encourages the reader to seek more information. The simple meditation exercise at the end is a bonus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Short but covers the important bits a great introduction to Buddhism. I enjoyed reading it and will keep dipping back into it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
A true gem of a book. This may be brief but attention and thought has gone into every line, and I return to it again and again; Short enough to be read in half an hour, precise enough to be picked up for a moment's thought and reflection, it will stay with you. If you are in the slightest bit interested in Buddhism then I cannot recommend this enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2011
Although short this little book provides a good introduction to the history and the basic principles of Buddhism. Should you wish to know more it would be worth getting a bigger book but for an introduction it is very useful as it covers:-
The essence of Buddhism
The Four Noble Truths
The eight-fold path
Meditation Practice
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
A great quick fire, no nonsense guide, to understanding Buddhism.
It has taught me to try and be the person, that I would would like to be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
I wanted a brief appreciation of Buddhism and this was precisely that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)