Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2017
In “The Elves of Cintra” we continue the story of Logan Tom and Angel Perez, two knights of the word, intent on their own individual missions.
Logan seeks to recover an ancient talisman of wild magic – the gypsy morph – and icon that can prevent humanity’s destruction. In doing so, he inadvertently becomes the surrogate protector of a ragtag bunch of street kids fleeing south from Seattle in their search for a safer place to live.
Meanwhile, Angel Perez is heading north, escorting the ephemeral ambassador of the fey – the tatterdemalion – to the elves of Cintra. Though isolated from mankind’s affairs for centuries, the elves are also in danger and need to take drastic measures to ensure they are not also swept away in the coming destruction. But will they listen?
If their job wasn’t difficult enough, both knights are forced to contend with the dross of a ruined civilization, mutants, freaks, once-men and demons. They also have to battle their own shortcomings, proving once again that in the post apocalyptic world of the future, the streets are always paved with so many hidden traps and snares, you never know who to trust…until it’s too late.
A thoroughly enjoyable romp through the seeds of the Shannara legend. I look forward to the next installment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
Spoiler Alert: It was a good read, however there are a few hitches in the storyline. One of the character's, Ailie can sense demons...so why did she miss sensing the demon in the midst of the elven trackers on the first meeting? In total there are 3 demons in Arborlon, but Brooks only refers to two, the one hunting Angel and the one Kirisin has the misfortune to encounter. I like Brooks books but he is too quick to terminate characters which would have made the story more interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
Very prompt delivery. Brilliant book in excellent condition. As always I enjoyed another chapter of the Shannara story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
THE WHOLE SERIES IS GREAT READ THE LAST 3 BOOKS FIRST BEFORE I REALISED I HAD THE FIRST 3 BOOKS ON MY SHELF
UNREAD AM NOW READING THEM WITH MUCH ENJOYMENT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2007
(This review also includes the prequel, Armageddon's Children--I read both books back to back and the story flows so well that it's hard to distinguish where one book ends and the other begins, so no spoilers for either!)

I didn't rush out to buy Armageddon's Children when it first came out for the simple reason that I wanted to wait until the entire trilogy was released. There aren't many books I will do this for, but Terry Brooks' "The Word and the Void" series is one of them.
For those of you who may not be aware yet, the "Genesis of Shannara" is a trilogy written to link two of Terry's best series together. Set after the events "Angel Fire East" and before the world of the Four Lands, Armageddon's Children and Elves of Cintra follow the journeys undertaken by two Knights of the Word in a post-apocalyptic world.

To some the premise of linking the two series together (rather than writing a straight sequel to the original Word and Void) may seem like a bit of a contradiction for an author who usually prefers to let his readers fill in the blanks.
However, any misgivings are sure to disappear just a few pages into Armageddon's Children. Any worries or disappointments at Terry's latest works like Straken are sure to fade, as it is soon delightfully obvious that he is back on top form.

Despite Brooks' entertaining Shannara and Landover series, Word and Void is where he really shines. This new series is a lot bleaker than the original trilogy, as the future foreseen in them has come to pass. Arthurian themes have diminished considerably, replaced instead with Messianic themes and references to Exodus (which were quite painful to read, I must admit)--not particularly disappointing, but not exactly subtle.

Subtlety is also lacking with just about any reference to things relating to Shannara. Small things that could easily be picked up by regular Brooks readers seemed to have been signposted in huge fluorescent letters. Don't expect Lynch-like subtlety from Elves of Cintra or Armageddon's Children.

Most of the characters aren't generally likeable, but they are interesting in their own ways. Every character has an event in their background that has shaped them dramatically, and breaks are often taken to explore relevant characters' backgrounds through passages bearing some resemblance to "dream sequences" the Knights of the Word experience.

But it's not even the characterization that places this book above par. It's the action and the tension--there's a constant "all or nothing" approach to the situations all the characters are facing. Things I've been wondering in my fanboy-like of moments are acted out; questions that have been tossed about by fans for years have been addressed and at times it feels like an adrenaline shot.

It was very hard to pinpoint exact things that made Elves of Cintra and its predecessor such a great read, but that is probably because even as a reviewer my mind was drawn away from the artifice and into the story.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2007
Terry Brooks strikes again.

As an eager (to say at least) reader of the former book "Armageddon Children", I could not wait to start reading the instalment of the series.

Let me start by saying that if you enjoyed the first book of the trilogy you will not be disappointed by this one, as the story continues with no solution of continuity between the two books.

What else to say? The fast-paced action, the plot twists, the great narrative style of Mr. Brooks, the focus on every single character, the thrilling setting suspended between two worlds we know are still all there.

Do I have to find a flaw? All right. I'll tell you two:
1) The last page arrives suddenly and unexpectedly, and you will find yourself very upset by reading the words "...to be continued";
2) as usually the case with Terry Brooks' books you will probably skip a few dinners and neglect some of your hobbies once you start reading ;)
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2007
The Elves of Cintra
This is Terry Brook's latest offering, sequel to the New York Times Bestselling Armageddon's children. The story continues following the stories of Hawk and the band of street kids known as the Ghosts, the elvin boy Kirisin and the two knights of the word, Logan Tom and Angel Parez.
The story has all the trademarks that Terry Brook's fans have come to associate with him: a character driven plot, a fast pace that carries the reader along and unexpected developments that keep the reader on their toes.
As always, Terry Brooks allows the reader to engage fully and sympathise with his characters. A couple of interesting new characters are added in to the mix and the relationships and unexpected bondings grow and strengthen over the course of the book. All of Terry's novels are gripping, but this book I found literally impossible to put down once begun and am already champing at the bit for the final instalment.
The audio book is read by Phil Geganti, a narrator I had not previously heard of. He does a great job, but once again the narrator has been altered mid series. I've never seen this happen more than with Terry's novels. It's lucky that the narrators for this series were both good, but there is always the risk that the narrator for book three won't be. Why can't publishers just settle for one narrator per series and be done with it? At least listeners would know what to expect.
However, this is no reflection on Terry Brooks. As usual, The Elves Of Cintra did not disappoint, and if he continues churning out novels of the same quality, he'll be bringing enjoyment to his fans for years to come.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 September 2007
I was lucky enough to meet Terry Brooks recently at a book signing for The Elves of Cintra, and get my copy signed. He's a really nice guy and it was an honour to talk to him.

His latest offering is up and down - up in the first half and down in the second half. Half way into this book, I was gripped and absolutely loving it. If it had carried on that way, it would have been Brooks' best book in years. But then it began to drag. The main culprit of this is all the scenes starring Logan Tom and the street kids. They were dull and tedious, and a couple of new characters are introduced in this thread that did little for me.

The main plot follows Angel Perez and the Elves of Cintra as they attempt to find the Elfstones which are needed to protect the Ellcrys against an imminent threat. This part of the story is much more entertaining, generally, although once again towards the end it gets bogged down when Brooks introduces a new character for one chapter just to build the characters a boat.

EoC rushes to something of a predictable ending, and none of the cliffhangers are exactly amazing. But there are plenty of easter eggs and clues here about how the world of the Genesis series is going to connect with and become the Four Lands, which is very interesting. And there is some good intrigue and excitement along the way. That makes it worth reading. Unfortunately, the second half of the book is a let-down, though, and didn't match up to the page-turning quality of the first.

As always, though, it is perhaps best to judge any book once you have read all the volumes in the series to which it belongs. That means that this review isn't really valid until this time next year, but these are my initial thoughts.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
Like all Terry Brooks books they start a little slow but then they rely get into the story line, well this one is one of them.
As I said slow but then it hots up, Terry Brooks is one of those Authors who know's exactly how to make that come across and then you can not put the book down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 January 2008
Before reading this review ensure you have already read Armageddon's Children, the excellent start to this trilogy.

There's a warm glow to be had even before a single page is turned - the subtitle, 'The Genesis of Shannara' is now revealed. It's a great concept - the merging of both of Brooks' most famous fantasy worlds, revealed to us during the mystique and enthalling twists of the first book. The story in this second book continues straight from the cliffhanger ending in the previous installment. The story then continues to expand the two journeys of the Knights of the Word. One thread continues with Logan Tom and the Ghosts as they seek to be reunited with their leader Hawk. The other strand follows Angel Perez in the to Cintra, the home of the Elves. In true Brooks style there is no predicting who will join the companies, or indeed who will fall from them. There is a great deal of closure in this chapter, the finale very different from the myriad of cliffhanges that Armageddon's Children produced. That said, there is no less eagerness for the next part, the main story arc is left wide open as the twin journeys continue. The feeling of The Elves of Cintra is one of character building and plot progression. There are some great hints at old world events which later influence Shannara as we know it and there are plenty of fresh elements at work too. However, it lacks the mystery of the first part and cannot contain the endgame excitement that the final part will deliver - the hallmarks of a middle chapter. It's unpredictable and a real page-turner. Certainly a recommended read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse