Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 13 June 2015
Long part of my occult book collection I was very happy to buy the Kindle version and save some space on my bookshelves. A useful and informative book for those interested in Magic and Witchcraft.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2012
it's an Encyclopedia- everything abt witchcraft even extends to films. really helped when doing my desertation. I bought this seravl years back and it's still one that i read or look up ever so often and i'm not a wiccan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2015
Really interesting and informative, am enjoying reading this as its full of good information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2014
This is very broad on the history of the craft - some very interesting. Good read again for research. shipping was quick
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 June 2007
This encyclopedia is a companion to the ENCYCLOPEDIA OF 5000 SPELLS, also by the same author.

When I first received this volume, I was surprised in some ways: I had been expecting it to be organised by A-Z reference. In a sense it is, but Judika has actually arranged subject areas into alphabetical order, rather than absolutely everything there is to know about witchcraft in general - a much better way of going about it.

The encyclopedia begins with an informative introduction. I urge everyone who picks up this encyclopedia, especially those with perhaps limited knowledge about Wicca and witchcraft, to read this first. Judika highlights in here that, as with beauty, "what constitutes witchcraft is dependent upon the eye of its beholder" (p.1). Quite an obvious onbsevation, but one that definitely warrants discussion, even in today's world.

Following the introduction, there is then a section about the elements of aitchcraft. Again, I would urge you to read this before delving into the late pages. Topics covered here are the roots of witchcraft, animism, the worship of goddesses and the image of the sacred female plus dualism.

Some of the subjects included in the reference section of the encyclopedia include Animals, Books of Magic and Witchcraft, Calendar of Revelry and Sacred Days, Fairies, Creative Arts, Women's Mysteries and Wormwood and Garlic: Dangers and Protection.

As another reviewer said, this book is really a work to be used as a point of reference. It is not a how-to of witchcraft - patly because in order to do that, it would have to take on a certain stance, or tradition, and I see this book as more a general reference to witchcraft. This volume would be a good starting point for someone who has no or a little knowledge and would like to develop that knowledge. By Judika providing an extensive bibliography, you would certainly be able to use it in such a way. Likewise, because the index is also included, it enables you to use this book as a very accessible first point of call for when you may want information quickly.

This is a brilliant encyclopedia. It serves its purpose very well. I am incredibly pleased that I purchased it. Good, informative books are not always easy to come by - books on Wicca and witchcraft can either be fabulous or very prescripted - whereas this helps you to learn more about such a wide subject with the chance to go away and develop your knowledge by further research. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2015
Just excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2014
I love this book. As someone who's always been drawn to witches and paganism but never really looked into it in depth this book is a fascinating study. Elements of history and mythology are woven in along with various aspects of witchcraft from around the world. As someone trying to write a book with witchy elements in it this will be a very valuable resource.
One thing to note: If you intend to use it regularly for reference you may wish to get a physical copy, as it's a little more difficult to just flick through a kindle edition, especially one so long as this. However the price of the kindle version is unbeatable and I would highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2015
also a gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)