Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
19
The Edge Chronicles 7: The Last of the Sky Pirates: First Book of Rook
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 7 March 2014
Set between the first and second ages of flight, The Last Of The Sky pirates is Incredible. The main character is a boy called Rook, who I seemed to know immediately. Rook is a Librarian knight apprentice who is picked to travelling to the free glades. There he embarks in his treatise voyage, on which he meets the LAST sky pirate. But his adventures are only just beginning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2015
I bought this for my 10 year old grandson who absolutely loves these books. He is forever reading now and says the stories are fantastic. A very good purchase. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2015
Superb writing and illustrating. A must read series for young and old.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2017
This series never disappoints! Absolutely gripping from start to finish. Can't help but get attached to these fantastic characters. Couldn't stop reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2015
My 13 year old son loves this series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2013
After finally getting it, Paul Stewart & Chris Riddell live up to their previous quality of work. Both a well thought out story line and exquisite illustration help to bring this book to life!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2014
This was one of the best edge chronicles I have read. I won't of recommend it to most 11 year olds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2013
not my favorite but i really liked this one much better then the Gloamglozer. but good read blah blah blah
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 August 2005
When I finished book 4, "The Curse of the Gloamglozer", I realized that the stage had been set for an incredible book 5. Thankfully, the books in this series come out much more quickly than the ones from J. K. Rowling , so I didn't have long to wait for "The Last of the Sky Pirates", the best in the series so far.
Set fifty years after "Midnight Over Sanctaphrax" (book 3), it doesn't continue from book 4, the first chronologically in the series, which sounds awfully confusing, but actually isn't. The Edge is a totally different place, with the mighty sky ships unable to fly, and New Sanctaphrax barely teetering on wooden supports after the dreaded stone sickness destroys the buoyant floating rocks. The Librarian Academics have been driven underground into the sewers, where they have constructed a vast library of scientific studies, and are forced to send worthy young scholars on covert and perilous missions for training, before they complete their life's quest by studying and documenting their chosen field of nature study.
In this book we follow the trail of young Rook Barkwater, a clever young under-librarian who is destined to become a Librarian Knight, doing research on the secret gatherings of banderbears, to whom he feels an unexplainable connection. His mission is dangerous and exciting, filled with wonderfully named, described and illustrated creatures that would otherwise defy the imagination.
During his thrilling adventures, he meets Captain Twig, who was thought to have perished with his crew in book 3, and begins a whole new adventure to rescue Twig's friend Cowlquape from the prisons of the Most High Guardian of Night, the villainous scoundrel of this episode.
Just as dark as the other books, but with a lot more action and adventure, I recommend this one heartily to fans of the series, but would advise newcomers to read at least books 1 to 3 first.
Amanda Richards
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 May 2005
I'm not in the target audience, being 58 years old, but I LOVED this book!
Mr.Stewart's fertile imagination has created the strange natural laws that govern this land, producing some weird effects and the extraordinary creatures that Mr.Riddell's art gives life to. The stories can be read and re-read with no diminishing of their power to entertain and enthrall and this addition has the same deliciously dark detailed drawings and inventive imagery as the previous 4 - but even better.
Rook Barkwater is a lowly, timid under-librarian who unexpectedly escapes the boredom and gloom of the library sewers to explore the deepwoods, on a quest for the cure for the pervasive stone-sickness which has all but destroyed New Sanctaphrax. After much searching and many encounters with strange (and fondly-remembered) creatures, he finally finds Twig - the last of the Sky Pirates - and sets off on the adventure of his life.
The inventiveness of the plot, cliffhangers at every chapter, fantastically imagined creatures (and people!) with delicious names, and brilliantly executed drawings on every other page, combine to make an addictive page-turner that delights young and old alike. The chapters are just long/short enough to hold a child's attention (and mine!) at bedtime, without risking sleep/boredom.
The series shows no signs of running out of steam - they are destined to become world classics!
*****
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here