Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
98
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2014
This excellent comic novel has been one of my steady "go to" reads for as long as I can remember and will always be one of my very favourite books. The book was authored in the 19th Century by the Grossmith brothers. The "Nobody" of the title is fictional London clerk Mr Charles Pooter, his diary covers just over a year in his life and opens as he and his wife Carrie are settling into their new house in Brickfield Terrace, Holloway. The diary captures in an unfailingly humorous manner the (usually) petty trials and tribulations in his life. You laugh at and often cringe at the frequently pompous and sometimes touchy Mr Pooter however, you also love him dearly.

He brings his trivial squabbles with servants and tradesmen, occasional humiliations suffered at social events to such vivid life. His relationships with his long-suffering but loyal wife Carrie and his clever but worrying son Lupin plus his friends, colleagues and acquaintances are just so wonderfully drawn and are actually very insightful. Truly brilliant!

As well as laughter the book provides a valuable slice of social history, as the reader gets a glimpse into the lives of a lower middle-class Victorian family.

A perfect 5* read.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2016
This is a brilliant story,
worth reading as it is a classic and it is very funny.
one of the funniest books you will read.
Although the action takes place a long time ago it is very relevant to today.

Your have probably heard of a couple of the people as they are often mentioned on tv and quiz programs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2016
A book written by doyens of the Victorian theatre.
Charles Poorer is a character that evokes every emotion. A pompous prig , but so wronged by the world to draw sympathy.
It is hysterical from first to last.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
Hilariously funny. Anyone with an interest in journal writing, or the self-deprecating humour of English social mores would find this bemusing reading. And coming as a free Kindle, it's a double treat. Don't expect anything of gravity or philosophy here, just enjoy the views of society from the perspectives of a London city clerk of yester years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
I really enjoyed this book. Took a bit of searching to find it wasn't a factual book. Pity no more was written on these characters. They felt real. The style and grammar felt like it was written yesterday. Would love to see the film; I imagine it would feel like Goodbye Mr Chips.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
This is one of those charming books that isn't great literature but is very well written. 'Nobody' is a middle aged, respectable clerk with a healthy respect for the social order. He is often baffled by modern attitudes, particularly those of his son, Lupin. Nevertheless, he perseveres in his respectable life, enduring the trials and tribulations of ironmongers, butchers and laundresses, and everything works out almost as expected.

It's a nice commentary on lower middle class life at the turn of the 20th century. It has some very funny moments and is very enjoyable. I ended up wishing it was a bit longer!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
This was recommended by a friend but I couldn't finish it. Pooter is meant to be a pompous snob, I know, but I didn't find him funny just irritating. Perhaps it worked better at the time it was written when society and customs were very different.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
A most interesting book that gives a great example of life in those times. However, Mr Pooter is a city clerk who fancies himself as being higher up the social scale. An amusing insight into the mind of a snob and should be read with tongue in cheek.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
This is a lovely little read. I think there is a little bit of Charles Pooter in me. It did make me laugh and I often sympathized with the main character as the book went along. I would recommend to anyone who wants something light to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
It's an OK read and I do agree with it's point. Anybody's diary is of interest for the sake of feeding one's nosy gene. It's written in an old fashioned manner and thus small bits at a time are sufficient. I've had it on my Kindle for quite a while and have still not finished wading through it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse