Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 21 November 2000
This is a great story, which follows the life of a David Morgan, a man who has it all but isn't satisfied.
The book is essentially divided into two sections, the first follows a restless David as he searches for his calling until he eventually meets Deborah and joins the Israeli airforce. The second half follows the life of the two after they both undergo horrific injuries of war and how their love allows them to see past it.
I've read many Wilbur Smith books and although this isn't his best, it is definitely worth a read. The 4 star rating is in comparison to his other excellent books such as "River God" and "Eye of the Tiger" both of which I recommend.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2012
I first read this book when it was first published and have owned a copy ever since which I have read many times over. I gave a copy to my son who has also kept it as one of his favourites. It is a story of a very rich young man coming to adulthood who loves to fly and after a stint in the South African Air Force travels around Europe and falls in love with an Israeli girl and follows her to Israel where he joins the Israeli Air Force. There many things happen which force him to leave Israel and he returns to South Africa where the story continues. It is a very powerful love story which will have you cheering and crying at the same time. In my opinion it is one of the best books Wilbur Smith has written and I have long wished for someone to put this story to film. A superb read that will not let you down.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 May 2014
I've just started re-reading books by this author as I remembered how good they were when I read them many moons ago. The story in this one stuck in my mind even though I couldn't remember all the details so I thought I'd try it again. I wasn't disappointed. This chap is such a good writer - all accurate research and he manages to paint a picture of both his characters and his environments that you can almost smell the flowers. If you haven't read anything by Wilbur Smith before this wouldn't be a bad one to start with. And with that I'm off to carry on with a Falcon Flies - the first of one of his trilogies
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2014
I already own both a hard back and a soft back version, both personally signed by Wilbur Smith when he visited Beverely for a book signing session. I queued for over an hour for that and this from someone who has walked out of a supermarket rather than queue!!!
I am an avid Wilbur Smith fan and have read all his novels but was stunned by the depth of feeling in this story. I have read this story three times now, the last time on my iPad. If you have feelings, don't miss this one
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2017
Typical Wilbur Smith. Wonderful. Couldn't wait for the end - so sorry when I got to it. All in all, couldn't be better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2018
Wilbur Smith was always a favourite of my mothers. So I am reading through many of them to find out why. She was so right, full of drama that often has you on the edge. Great read x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2018
Written and described beautifully. I often wonder if people who have real money are comfortable and truly content. Or is the drive for more an excuse to hide what they don't have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2015
You know what you are getting with Wilbur Smith and this story has it all - beautiful men, beautiful women, baddies galore and a good deal of adventure and dastardly deeds thrown into boot. Great stuff. I'm also enjoying reading books from before mobile phones and todays technology - off the top of my head I think this one is set in the 70s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2015
Wilbur Smith has the great gift of bringing the scene he is describing so alive that the reader is there. I really understood how the People of Israel feel about their homeland. This is a story on many levels, as all his tales are, it kept me intrigued from start to finish, and I do not think one can ask more of a book than that. Another VERY good read, thank you Mr Smith
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2017
I read this book a good few years ago and having just read it again still think it one of the best by Wilbur Smith and I have read most of his books now but prefer the earlier ones as this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Predator
£3.49
War Cry
£3.89

Need customer service? Click here